Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Evohome CS92 troubles

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    95

    Default Evohome CS92 troubles

    After over a year of more or less trouble free Evohome living, the system has started to throw problems with the CS92 wireless thermostat for the hot water.

    Every so often there will be a period where the controller shows a comms error with the sensor, and this may be anything from a few minutes to a few hours. Take a battery out of the sensor and pop it back in and the temperature is immediately displayed on the controller again. Ive tried changing batteries and even repositioning the CS92. There is now only one wall between the CS92 and the controller. A signal test shows either excellent or good communication.

    Works fine for a while (anywhere from a few hours to a day), and then the comms errors start again. This causes major annoyance when it occurs just before the hot water is set to heat ready for showers on the morning. Cold water on the morning the missus is up early to wash hair is not the best way to start a day I can tell you.

    I cant think of any changes in the room that would interfere with the comms, and certainly not at the random times the errors occur. The signal strength is fine when doing a test, either four or five flashes on the CS92 and excellent or good on the controller. A simple remove and reinsert of either battery and its all back and running fine again.

    Can anyone think of anything that I may be able to check as to why this has started? Hot water has been fine for months on end until now.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    144

    Default

    sounds Like a Bad connection on CS92 Board there is a thread here where people opened the CS 92 Bent Spring Contacts and reassembled and this resolved their Issues worth looking at

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...highlight=CS92

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    123

    Default

    I suggested in this thread that we were being lulled into a false sense of CS92 happiness while our heating was off over the summer:

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...ershoots/page3

    Like you, mine had been working fine for the last couple of months while my heating was off but my heating is back on for the autumn and this morning I had an overshoot on my DHW. This was limited by the mechanical thermostat on my cylinder closing the DHW valve but the CS92 took nearly an hour to transmit a temperature update and turn off the BDR91. I think if your CS92 is in the same county as any of your BDR91s you might be getting RF interference if your heating is back on again.

    I am now resigned to the CS92 being a dodgy bit of plastic and just hope that Honeywell might bring out a mains powered device before too long. I could try hanging the CS92 out of my bathroom window but I am losing the will to try with different orientations. I really don't think customers (or installers) should have to jump through such hoops with the placement and orientation of devices offered in the retail market, but I will just put up with its idiosyncracies for now. My mechanical thermostat protects me against very high temperatures so I will give in.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    I have had this problem off and on over the past 2 years. I replaced the CS92 last year and had issues again in the Spring. I hope that I am not tempting fate but it’s been fine for the past 6 months. Tech Support checked the old CS92 and said that there were no issues, and it was just one of those things! Thinking about it, any loss of comms would not have much effect on my HW heating as the ON period is an Evotouch setting, and the cylinder temperature would be controlled by the unvented cylinder stat which is set slightly higher that the Evotouch setting.

    Following a boiler change in April, I now only have one BDR in the airing cupboard with the Opentherm Bridge now located in my integral garage. It will be interesting to see if the problem returns.
    Last edited by HenGus; 5th October 2017 at 07:09 PM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    I had problems when I first installed my CS92 with random overshoots and the occasional comms error despite excellent signal readings every time I checked.

    The thing that made the most difference for me was retensioning the battery contacts behind the PCB, (by removing the PCB, bending them up a bit then refitting it) not where they go to the battery. I still had minor problems after that until I moved the location of the CS92. It then worked fairly well with almost no trouble for about 6 months and I started having problems with overshoots and comms errors yet again.

    I got it replaced under warranty about 3 months ago and touch wood I have not had a single overshoot since then. I have to say - of all the Evohome kit the CS92 seems by far the most fragile and unreliable.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    I'm seriously considering hooking my CS92 up to a 3V mains adaptor!

    Something like this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Battery-Eli.../dp/B01MAWHOPM

  7. #7
    Automated Home Ninja Dan_Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Oooh.. Me likey.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan_Robinson View Post
    Oooh.. Me likey.


    Actually, more likely to just get a mate to 3D print 2x fake AA batteries for me and use those to wedge some bare wires off a 3V mains adaptor against the appropriate contacts. Much more Heath Robinson!

  9. #9

    Default

    Do check the requirements for other properties other than stated voltage - many devices designed for DC battery operation are very sensitive to things such as voltage ripple, and will give inconsistent readings when powered from this kind of power supply. It’s not unusual to get several degrees of sensor reading “swing” for example. Maybe not too much of a problem if you don’t want close control on something like a hot water sensor and can accept a several degree swing in reading around the “real” measured value, but a major problem when trying for close control especially with room temperatures over a much smaller range. Finding 3v DC power supplies with well smoothed, low ripple voltage are few and far between.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Ninja Dan_Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Good point well made.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •