• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DavidMellor
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Oct 2017

Robotic radiator valves

Hi group,
    I'm trying to choose a robotic radiator valve and would like to ask what the group might recommend please?
    I am just starting on my smart home adventure. I've been a programmer using C for around 25 years and have a preference for getting low level and giving myself maximum control but would also like to get up and running quickly.
    I am thinking about Home Assistant as a quick solution to get up and running and perhaps look at development libraries like open Z-wave later, and any others I might need depending on the devices I end up working with. I would use a raspberry pie or other small form factor computer.

On the radiator valves then:
    I'm a blind person so can't see the pictures of any devices on the web. I'd like to ask if they have numbers printed on them like conventional TRVs, in which case I'm wondering if they have a second built in motor to adjust the head so the selected temperature is still correct after it's been adjusted by software.
    I could use wired or wireless communications.
    I'm picturing something that is much the same size and shape as a conventional TRV if there is such a thing, rather than an over-sized blocky device with a flip up display designed to show scheduling information, etc.
    It does need to be able to integrate with a computer setup then rather than being part of a proprietary self contained system.
    There would ideally be some means of adjusting the temperature with the valve itself rather than resorting to a computer or phone but that's not essential.
    Later I will look for a relay that I can use to turn the boiler on and off.
    The valve does need to tell the computer/controller that the room has reached its desired temperature, or better, that the room isn't getting any warmer.