Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Evohome and Worcester Bosch Combi Boiler

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Evohome and Worcester Bosch Combi Boiler

    Hello there, I am new to the forum and also to Evohome, and have a question which I suspect may be rather basic!

    I have recently installed a simple Evohome setup in our flat - Evohome Connected Pack with controller and BDR91 connected to a WB Greenstar 25Si combi boiler, plus 6 HR92 radiator controllers (one for each room).

    The boiler previously had a Worcester Bosch DT10RF digistat built in to the front of the boiler, which communicated with a wall-mounted thermostat to control the central heating. Based on research and advice, this was disconnected as it conflicted with the BDR91 meaning that the Evohome system couldn't switch on the heating because the DT10RF was waiting for a signal from its thermostat.

    Since doing the installation, the hot water from the combi boiler is very very hot. My understanding is that the DT10RF doesn't do anything to regulate the temperature of the hot water, so I think this is probably a boiler fault which has coincidentally happened around the same time that the Evohome has been installed. But can anyone confirm this for me please? I'd be very grateful for your advice.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    8

    Default

    There is a dial to control the hot water temp - maybe it got moved ?

    worcester hot water temp.jpg

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi, yes, I have tried that but even with it set at 1 the water’s still really hot. Am I right in thinking that disconnecting the old digistat should have no effect on hot water temperature?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilch100 View Post
    Hi, yes, I have tried that but even with it set at 1 the water’s still really hot. Am I right in thinking that disconnecting the old digistat should have no effect on hot water temperature?
    It will have an affect on the Eco mode, the Digistat allowed you have timed the eco mode (or even switch it On) to give you quicker hot water delivery during the day, then go back to eco mode at night.

    If the green Eco button is not lit up on the front then it isnít enable, press it and it will enable the Eco mode.

    That will be the only difference between the Evohome and Digistat.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks, that’s really helpful.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    on some boilers the controller allows you to set a HW max temperature and if you remove the controller then the boiler reverts to it's own set max. So I would check if there is such a setting on the boiler which is now not being over ridden. Also I hope you disconnected the remote base until completely from the boiler because again on some controllers if only the control panel is switched off, the boiler assume a fail safe mode which may not be what you want.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    on some boilers the controller allows you to set a HW max temperature and if you remove the controller then the boiler reverts to it's own set max. So I would check if there is such a setting on the boiler which is now not being over ridden. Also I hope you disconnected the remote base until completely from the boiler because again on some controllers if only the control panel is switched off, the boiler assume a fail safe mode which may not be what you want.
    On the Digistat controller there is no HW temperature set point, that is done on the front of the boiler with the above control knob.

    OP, if you have just unplugged the receiver from the circuit board (The little black 7 pin lead from behind the clock) then that is all you need to do to then use the S/L on the boiler.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks so much, that’s very reassuring.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •