Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Evohome controller as room thermostat

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default Evohome controller as room thermostat

    Hello, I have recently installed an Evohome system. The Evohome website says that “The evohome controller can act as a room thermostat on its own.” I would like to do this for the Hall zone where the controller is wall mounted, but can’t find any guidance on how to set it up this way. Can anybody help me with how to do this please?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Are you using at as just a Smart thermostat or do you also have the HR92s (Radiator controllers) and want to use it as a temperature sensor for the HR92 in the hall?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I have HR92s in all the other rooms, but no TRV at all in the Hall. Not sure if I can use the controller instead of an HR92 for the radiator in the Hall?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,561

    Default

    How is the hall radiator going to be controlled if it doesn't have an HR92 attached?

    P.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    285

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilch100 View Post
    I have HR92s in all the other rooms, but no TRV at all in the Hall. Not sure if I can use the controller instead of an HR92 for the radiator in the Hall?
    The EvoHome controller would need something to control - in your case a HR92 on the hall rad. It can't control something that isn't there.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Yes it can not control something. I have it set that way in my Hall. I have my controller assigned to one zone (Hall) but no HR80 associated with that zone. I keep the set point of that zone at 5C all the time. So basically its just a fancy wall mounted thermometer for the Hall.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you - do you know what the zone settings should be to do this please?

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Mine is set as a Radiator Valve, with the controller being the temperature sensor and no actuator paired.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I will give that a try - many thanks

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Yes it can not control something. I have it set that way in my Hall. I have my controller assigned to one zone (Hall) but no HR80 associated with that zone. I keep the set point of that zone at 5C all the time. So basically its just a fancy wall mounted thermometer for the Hall.
    We have been here before. I believe that the Evotouch can be used just as a thermostat/heating timer; ie, with no TRVs or just standard TRV heads. In such a situation, the house would just be a single zone.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •