Page 7 of 40 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111217 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 396

Thread: New evohome FW - update WiFi 02.00.17.00 and Application 02.00.17.03

  1. #61
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Ireland? Perhaps they can just hard code "Raining".... ;-)

    Maybe just show raindrops are falling on my head

  2. #62
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    998

    Default

    Qn: will this firmware upgrade have re-set Optimisation? I ask because at 17:59, I had one zone within 0.5C of its target temperature with 100% Opentherm demand. At 18:00, the target temperature reduced to 15C and Opentherm demand dropped.

  3. #63
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    Qn: will this firmware upgrade have re-set Optimisation? I ask because at 17:59, I had one zone within 0.5C of its target temperature with 100% Opentherm demand. At 18:00, the target temperature reduced to 15C and Opentherm demand dropped.
    I would suspect so as I've seen overshoots on two of my systems tonight which are usually pretty good (Although perhaps it's just a coincidence.)

  4. #64
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    I came home to find an upgraded unit!

    Two annoyances right now:

    * it had lost the WiFi connection info and had to be reconnected to the network
    * it’s completely renamed my zones. This is really annoying especially as on some zones it’s used names that previously existed, so they’re now on the wrong zone

  5. #65
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,667

    Default

    Don’t know what it's like where you folks live, but it's a lot warmer here than it has been recently. Around 10ish rather than zeroish that it's been of late. That could also be a reason.

  6. #66
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,667

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dty View Post
    * it had lost the WiFi connection info and had to be reconnected to the network
    * it’s completely renamed my zones. This is really annoying especially as on some zones it’s used names that previously existed, so they’re now on the wrong zone
    Neither of those seen here. Anyone else?

  7. #67
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    419

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Neither of those seen here. Anyone else?
    No i've come home to an updated unit that's working fine with no other changes (other than the updates)

    Yes warmer weather could be an affect, however surely as it's only raising the room temperature from x to x the outdoor temperature shouldn't really affect it that much and the unit should compensate if it's learnt.

  8. #68
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    It would, imho, be better if this information was on the main screen and not hidden away in the installer settings.
    Have to agree with this. There’s plenty of space to display this on the main screen.

  9. #69
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    69

    Default

    I took my one out of the cradle and it is warm at the bottom charging the what I think used to be called a nicd battery.

    My infrared thermometer tells me it is 3.2f warmer than the shelf it stands on. Thus this room is a little cold at 67.1f

  10. #70
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmcgavock View Post
    No i've come home to an updated unit that's working fine with no other changes (other than the updates)

    Yes warmer weather could be an affect, however surely as it's only raising the room temperature from x to x the outdoor temperature shouldn't really affect it that much and the unit should compensate if it's learnt.
    In our parts the outdoor temperature has gone from consistently below zero to about 10-12 degrees in the space of one or two days.

    That can most definitely cause overshoot, especially if you'd bumped you flow temperature up a bit higher to deal with the sub zero temperatures as we did...

    As for whether it will learn - yes it will, but it won't adapt to a change of that magnitude in just one or two days. It will take possibly up to a week to fully adapt to a large change in outdoor temperature and thus a large reduction in heat loss from rooms.

    The thermal response time of your rooms will be very different with an outdoor temperature of 10 vs below zero, and the Evohome has no knowledge that the the outdoor temperature has suddenly changed by so much (the new outside temperature display is supposedly informational only and the reading is not considered by the control algorithms...) other than empirically discovering that when rooms start to overshoot.

    Personally I think having the system consider the outdoor temperature as part of its calculations would minimise the amount of relearning required and how long it takes (by incorporating a type of weather compensation into the algorithm) but I've already beaten that horse to death in other threads and I don't think we'll see anything like that...
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 20th December 2017 at 08:08 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •