Page 31 of 40 FirstFirst ... 212627282930313233343536 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 310 of 396

Thread: New evohome FW - update WiFi 02.00.17.00 and Application 02.00.17.03

  1. #301
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    @robj20 This has always been my big concern about push updates; smart heating controls; Winter, and being away from home.

  2. #302
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    146

    Default

    My system went seriously wonky during the update too - half the rooms stopped reporting temperatures. I thought it was bust but by the time I'd finished writing a post here about it, I checked and it was working again!

    It is worrying that you seemingly have NO control over updates (barring pulling internet connection). Being able to schedule an update in some fashion would be a good addition in deep settings.

  3. #303
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Glad it wasn't just mine. They should at least limit updates for summer, and download but not install. It can ask and then do a restart, such simple ways to do it properly.

  4. #304
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrBoy View Post
    My system went seriously wonky during the update too - half the rooms stopped reporting temperatures. I thought it was bust but by the time I'd finished writing a post here about it, I checked and it was working again!
    Your system did not go "seriously wonky".

    Temperature sensors only transmit periodically, so when the controller is rebooted it doesn't know what the temperature is in a zone until next time the zone temperature sensor reports in. In the meantime it shows an hour glass to indicate it doesn't know what the zone temperature is yet. After a period of time (which can vary from a few minutes to about 30 minutes typically) a sensor will report in and the zone temperature will appear.

    All perfectly normal and expected behaviour after a reboot. Try rebooting your controller again without a firmware update and it will behave exactly the same... and for zones that use HR92's as sensors you can just press the button on each HR92 to force an immediate temperature update to hurry it along.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 2nd February 2018 at 02:19 PM.

  5. #305
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robj20 View Post
    Woke up this morning to find the house freezing couldnt figure out why, boiler showed no demand, yet the valves and evohome showed the correct target temps. Just as if evohome hadnt sent the demand to the boiler.
    When you got up, how long past the time that zones were scheduled to come on was it ?
    Anyway noticed the outside temp at the top so thought it must have updated which it has i now have the demand in % shown in deep settings.
    Took the batteries out and back in and the heating fired up.

    Is this normal that a firmware update can mess things up until you restart the device?
    Not normal no - can't say I've seen anyone else report this.

    It's possible that the update just occurred at an inopportune time in relation to your schedule, and it's very likely that if you had just left it alone it would have sorted itself out at the next set point change, or within about 20 minutes, depending on what the exact cause was as the set points, measured temperatures and heat demands are all re-sent periodically.

  6. #306
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrBoy View Post
    My system went seriously wonky during the update too - half the rooms stopped reporting temperatures. I thought it was bust but by the time I'd finished writing a post here about it, I checked and it was working again!
    As noted elsewhere, you can speed up the "discovery" process by briefly pressing the button on any slow-to-call-in HR92s.

  7. #307
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Your system did not go "seriously wonky".

    Temperature sensors only transmit periodically, so when the controller is rebooted it doesn't know what the temperature is in a zone until next time the zone temperature sensor reports in. In the meantime it shows an hour glass to indicate it doesn't know what the zone temperature is yet. After a period of time (which can vary from a few minutes to about 30 minutes typically) a sensor will report in and the zone temperature will appear.

    All perfectly normal and expected behaviour after a reboot. Try rebooting your controller again without a firmware update and it will behave exactly the same...
    Some of us long time users know this. Nice though if users could be told when it is to happen. There are many no doubt who may panic. Plus perhaps do the update at 01:00 in the morning.

  8. #308
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    When you got up, how long past the time that zones were scheduled to come on was it ?

    Not normal no - can't say I've seen anyone else report this.

    It's possible that the update just occurred at an inopportune time in relation to your schedule, and it's very likely that if you had just left it alone it would have sorted itself out at the next set point change, or within about 20 minutes, depending on what the exact cause was as the set points, measured temperatures and heat demands are all re-sent periodically.
    It was scheduled to come in at 4:50 and at 5:10 it was all cold with no signs on the boiler. Each zone had the right target temp just no boiler firing.

  9. #309
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Your system did not go "seriously wonky".

    Temperature sensors only transmit periodically, so when the controller is rebooted it doesn't know what the temperature is in a zone until next time the zone temperature sensor reports in. In the meantime it shows an hour glass to indicate it doesn't know what the zone temperature is yet. After a period of time (which can vary from a few minutes to about 30 minutes typically) a sensor will report in and the zone temperature will appear.

    All perfectly normal and expected behaviour after a reboot. Try rebooting your controller again without a firmware update and it will behave exactly the same... and for zones that use HR92's as sensors you can just press the button on each HR92 to force an immediate temperature update to hurry it along.
    Sure it might be normal but if as a typical user I wake up and half my zones are reporting "--" and the others look fine, and the controller doesn't TELL me an update is in progress or something, then it IS wonky. It's just bad software UX practice not to let a user know that something is happening which could make them think it's having issues.

  10. #310
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    When I got the beta software, it renamed all my zones! There was something else odd too, but I can't remember the details.

    Like others, I agree that you should have to physically accept a firmware update on the controller. Honeywell could email you telling you that it's available, etc. But you should have to go to the controller and accept it.

    I'm genuinely worried that it will update when we're on holiday during the winter and leave the house unheated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •