Page 35 of 40 FirstFirst ... 253031323334353637383940 LastLast
Results 341 to 350 of 396

Thread: New evohome FW - update WiFi 02.00.17.00 and Application 02.00.17.03

  1. #341
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrBoy View Post
    I've had some window-related issues the last week or two as well. More confusing is that the controller and the app don't see to show the window detection, they just seem to show it being up to temperature. We had a lot of confusion sitting in a freezing room that the app reported was at 24C. It was only on walking over to check the HR92 I saw the "WINDOW" message and a temperature display of 5. This is in a room that had the door shut and no window anywhere near the radiator.
    Something not right there... Any time the window function activates it you should get a window icon displayed in the zone on the controller and the set point will be shown as 5 degrees and in obvious blue. The phone app unfortunately does not have a window icon, however it will show the set point has changed to 5 degrees, and it will appear as if there is no override. (no override icon) If both are still showing the original set point instead of 5 degrees then it seems that the message from the HR92 reporting it went into window mode is not getting through to the controller.

    Are you sure you didn't disable window mode in the zone configuration in the controller ?

    I've since seen it in one or two other places too - I don't think it happened previously though it may be we just didn't notice. The fact it's not reported properly on the controller/app is more annoying - it's the kind of thing I might even like a notification through the app for!

    I have noticed there are seemingly a lot of window-related settings, and the main window-setting (option 11 IIRC) has 3 options 0/1/2. I just set to 0 is that the best solution?
    There are several settings:

    11-Win type. 0=window mode disabled, 1=window mode enabled using the built in temperature sensor, (default) 2=window mode enabled using the remote window sensor switch.

    3-Win time. How long window mode remains active if the temperature stays cold - 30, 60 or 90 minutes, before going back to the previous set point.

    4-Win Dec. How many degrees the temperature has to drop in a short space of time before triggering window mode. 0.2 - 2 degrees. Defaults to 0.6 degrees. I can't find any reference to what period of time is considered to be a "short time" but it's probably around 4 minutes. If you increase this value you make window detection less sensitive as it needs a greater drop in temperature to trigger it

    5-Win Inc. How many degrees the temperature must rise again in a short period of time before window mode is cancelled early. (Before the timeout set in option 3) Defaults to 0.2 degrees. If you close an open door and this triggers the measured temperature to increase by 0.2 degrees or more in a "short time" window mode is cancelled immediately. Increasing this value makes it less sensitive to cancelling window mode.

    If you want to desensitise window mode but leave it enabled so it works when a door or window is left wide open, increase the value in option 4 - I've done this in a few specific locations that were tripping too easily but where I still wanted it to activate if for example the back door was left wide open for a while. If you want to disable it altogether set option 11 to 0.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 23rd February 2018 at 03:33 PM.

  2. #342
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    146

    Default

    It's possible the fact the devices don't talk instantaneously makes it seem more confusing - these days we're used to everything happening within seconds whereas the Honeywell system does it every couple of minutes

    Maybe I'll turn window mode back on the offending HR92s and keep an eye out. We were most perplexed the first time - the room had been set to 13 and we raised that to 20. The valve opened to full but a few minutes later it closed again. Confused, we saw the app reported the current temperature as 22... and no we didn't put a blanket over the HR92, it's always been fine in that room previously.

    Thanks for the detailed help.

  3. #343
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    When HR92s have something to say, they usually say it immediately - go and turn the dial to override the setpoint, for example. It's only when there's nothing else going on that they wake up periodically to listen - hence why overriding the setpoint at the controller or app will take a few minutes to take effect.

  4. #344
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    122

    Default

    How many months since this new firmware was announced, and my latest generation controller still hasn't received the update?

  5. #345
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rotor View Post
    How many months since this new firmware was announced, and my latest generation controller still hasn't received the update?
    Call Honeywell support ? Everyone else here seems to have the update some time ago ?

  6. #346
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Call Honeywell support ? Everyone else here seems to have the update some time ago ?
    Could you tell me which update you are referring to? I am running app 01.00.07.01 and wifi 01.00.06.10. Is this the latest one? I asked to be upgraded to version .02 which was discussed in this forum but was told by Honeywell that this is still in testing mode so was not available. I am in the UK, if that makes a difference.

  7. #347
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Something not right there... Any time the window function activates it you should get a window icon displayed in the zone on the controller and the set point will be shown as 5 degrees and in obvious blue. The phone app unfortunately does not have a window icon, however it will show the set point has changed to 5 degrees, and it will appear as if there is no override. (no override icon) If both are still showing the original set point instead of 5 degrees then it seems that the message from the HR92 reporting it went into window mode is not getting through to the controller.

    Are you sure you didn't disable window mode in the zone configuration in the controller ?

    There are several settings:

    11-Win type. 0=window mode disabled, 1=window mode enabled using the built in temperature sensor, (default) 2=window mode enabled using the remote window sensor switch.

    3-Win time. How long window mode remains active if the temperature stays cold - 30, 60 or 90 minutes, before going back to the previous set point.

    4-Win Dec. How many degrees the temperature has to drop in a short space of time before triggering window mode. 0.2 - 2 degrees. Defaults to 0.6 degrees. I can't find any reference to what period of time is considered to be a "short time" but it's probably around 4 minutes. If you increase this value you make window detection less sensitive as it needs a greater drop in temperature to trigger it

    5-Win Inc. How many degrees the temperature must rise again in a short period of time before window mode is cancelled early. (Before the timeout set in option 3) Defaults to 0.2 degrees. If you close an open door and this triggers the measured temperature to increase by 0.2 degrees or more in a "short time" window mode is cancelled immediately. Increasing this value makes it less sensitive to cancelling window mode.

    If you want to desensitise window mode but leave it enabled so it works when a door or window is left wide open, increase the value in option 4 - I've done this in a few specific locations that were tripping too easily but where I still wanted it to activate if for example the back door was left wide open for a while. If you want to disable it altogether set option 11 to 0.
    Do what's going on here then?
    Pictures taken in order, first one when I noticed it was in window mode after I turned this off: IMG_20180306_231345.jpgIMG_20180306_231358.jpgIMG_20180306_231402.jpgIMG_20180306_231408.jpgIMG_20180306_231425.jpg

  8. #348
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrBoy View Post
    Do what's going on here then?
    Pictures taken in order, first one when I noticed it was in window mode after I turned this off: IMG_20180306_231345.jpgIMG_20180306_231358.jpgIMG_20180306_231402.jpgIMG_20180306_231408.jpgIMG_20180306_231425.jpg
    Setting 11 to 0 is the correct way to disable it - I just checked in the HR92 user guide. Hmm...

    Is that the only HR92 in that zone ? If you have multiple ones in the zone you would need to disable it on all of them as any one of them could trigger window mode for the overall zone. If you have multiple HR92's in the zone did they all say window ?

    Is there a wall stat like a DTS92 in the zone ? In my own testing in a zone with an HR92 and DTS92 I found that the wall stat did not perform any window detection (even shoving it in a freezer for 5 mins didn't trigger it) but maybe that's not the case if you use the evotouch or a YT87RF as the zone sensor.

    A couple of things you could try - try disabling window mode in the zone configuration in the controller itself - I haven't tried that before but I presume it would work ??

    Or just increase option 4 quite a bit to reduce the sensitivity. Maybe someone else will have some ideas.

  9. #349
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Maybe reboot the HR92 by briefly opening the battery top?

  10. #350
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    16

    Default

    How strange, I had this exact same problem last week. Window function came on, I disabled on the HR92 but it was seemingly ignored - and came on again later in the day.

    Probably just needed a reboot and all that - but funny how someone else has the same......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •