Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: update 02.00.17.00 and 02.00.17.03 can it be reversed

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    37

    Default update 02.00.17.00 and 02.00.17.03 can it be reversed

    I am freezing this morning no heating the Evohome ignored the schedule.

    After changing to the original WiFi controller I had no problems with the first software other than a few niggles with Alexa nothing to do with EvoHome which worked without hitch.
    I was one of the people that elected for the beta version which as I can recall worked as expected but since the general release, problem after problem,
    today for instance the controller totally ignored the schedule change and left heating off.

    There have been instances when one zone was ignored and left a zone cold other instances when zones are saying zero and radiators are at full blast, on one occasion at 4 o'clock in the morning and other random times.

    I want a SET and FORGET system

    I have decided today to fit new batteries on all radiators, redo the charging of batteries on the controller as Richards instructions and possibly a FACTORY RESET then I will just have to pull my hair out and scream.

    I suppose there is no way of reversing back to the original WIFI software?

    As an after thought we are having a problem with the house wifi from our Provider, it keeps dropping out, sometimes for an hour, but does this have any influence on the general running of the Evohome system which runs entirely on RF .

  2. #2
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    As you say, Evohome works entirely on a proprietary non-Wifi protocol, so problems with your Wifi won't affect your day-to-day running of Evohome. Obviously, they'll have an impact on your ability to control the system via your phone, Alexa, etc. (By the way, don't say RF. That means radio frequency, and can be used to refer to any radio-based protocol, including Wifi).

    Have you called Honeywell support to see what they have to say? They have monitoring information that the controller sends back to their servers which may prove useful. You may have uncovered a bug which can get fixed for everyone!

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Actually, it seems like a whole load of people had clock problems this morning which meant their schedules weren't running. See the several other threads that are at the top of the list today. Could you have the same problem?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radar2016 View Post

    I want a SET and FORGET system
    Sadly, I am not sure that Set and Forget is possible with wireless controls. I am not a great user of the App after I came home from holiday to find the controller was in a frozen state. I was aware that it had happened within minutes of me making the change. Fortunately, it was summer and my remote action was nothing more than turning the HW schedule back on.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    37

    Default

    That could explain todays problem but it do'es seem to be more unstable now.
    What do you say if it is not RF?

  6. #6
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radar2016 View Post
    What do you say if it is not RF?
    Well, it is RF, of course. But to say "runs entirely on RF" could well mean it's Wifi!

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Eindhoven, Holland
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radar2016 View Post
    As an after thought we are having a problem with the house wifi from our Provider, it keeps dropping out, sometimes for an hour, but does this have any influence on the general running of the Evohome system which runs entirely on RF .
    WiFi problems can mean that your Evotouch controller will not be in sync with any changes made through the cloud API while your house WiFi is down. If your phone reverts to 4G while your WiFi is out and you make a change in the TCC app, those changes will not reach your Evotouch at that time. Not sure if Honeywell timestamps changes to know that in syncing up when your WiFi is back, the changes in the app were the recent ones and should be copied to the Evotouch, rather than having the old data in the Evotouch go and undo the changes in the cloud.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    37

    Default

    [QUOTE=dty;36693]As you say, Evohome works entirely on a proprietary non-Wifi protocol, so problems with your Wifi won't affect your day-to-day running of Evohome. Obviously, they'll have an impact on your ability to control the system via your phone, Alexa, etc.

    Lets see if I have this right. While I am trying to get my provider to sort out the broadband, could I disconnect the wifi from the controller and work the EVOHOME entirely in house, following the schedule preset?

    I realise that Iphone App, Alexa and instructions and monitoring by Honeywell will not work, but as the problem this morning was affecting more than me( I was not aware of that when I posted this morning) this was a wifi problem and if the wifi was not connected I assume the clock would have kept the right time.
    I am having issues with zones not recieving the right insructions, for instance the green light on the BDR91 when the controller indicates that no zone is calling for heat
    I have replaced all the units with new batteries and recharged the controller so we shall see if that helps

  9. #9
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Yes. Evohome does not require any kind of network/internet connection to work. You can program it entirely from the controller screen and it will run just fine. It may keep even less accurate time than it does with an internet connection though!

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    [QUOTE=radar2016;36717]
    Quote Originally Posted by dty View Post
    As you say, Evohome works entirely on a proprietary non-Wifi protocol, so problems with your Wifi won't affect your day-to-day running of Evohome. Obviously, they'll have an impact on your ability to control the system via your phone, Alexa, etc.

    Lets see if I have this right. While I am trying to get my provider to sort out the broadband, could I disconnect the wifi from the controller and work the EVOHOME entirely in house, following the schedule preset?

    I realise that Iphone App, Alexa and instructions and monitoring by Honeywell will not work, but as the problem this morning was affecting more than me( I was not aware of that when I posted this morning) this was a wifi problem and if the wifi was not connected I assume the clock would have kept the right time.
    I am having issues with zones not recieving the right insructions, for instance the green light on the BDR91 when the controller indicates that no zone is calling for heat
    I have replaced all the units with new batteries and recharged the controller so we shall see if that helps
    I would stop obsessing over the Wifi connection - it's not going to be related to any of your problems.

    If the heat demand for the boiler control relay is dropping to 0% in the diagnostic screen and the green light on your BDR91 stays on for any length of time that suggests that there are RF comms problems between the devices. I would start looking for possible causes of interference on 868Mhz.

    What is the distance between controller and BDR91 and how many walls does the signal have to pass through to get there, of what type ? What do you get if you perform a signal check to the BDR91 ? Do you have any devices like an energy monitor or smart meter that may be using the same frequencies ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •