• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SMM
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Mar 2018

New Evohome firing boiler 24/7

Hello I am new to Evohome and to this forum.

New Evohome install on old Vaillant thermocompact last week by local plumbing company. CH&HW relays and the rad valve heads. Specific plumber had installed Evohome on new builds in a previous job.
    After I got home in the evening I set up Wi-fi which triggered firmware update after which it rebooted.
    That night it had a comms error with the relays and the house was cold in morning.
    Plumber returned and rebound hot water relay.
    System has then worked mostly as expected but I had a suspicion it cycles boiler all night.
    Last night I confirmed this two hours after last heat demand. System status shows 0% demand but boiler doing minimal one minute cycles with pump overrun.
    Tested again this morning using the off setting and checking 0% demand and the same.

Any systematic troubleshooting advice from the experts I have observed posting here would be appreciated. I have pinged an email to Honeywell but I am sure it might take a while to get a response. I can do Evohome settings stuff but if it’s wiring I will call in installer to do. Many thanks!

Edit:
    I forgot to say the house being cold was a boiler pump problem that was fixed. I also can now add that last night I checked and the relay green lights are NOT illuminated when the boiler is cycling so could this mean it’s not an Evohome problem?
    Last edited by SMM; 8 March 2018, 05:50 PM. Reason: Add extra detail
  • HenGus
    Automated Home Legend
    • May 2014

Someone on another forum had a similar problem. This was the advice offered which solved the problem:

‘turn the boiler thermostat up, the cylinder is probably set for 60c and the boiler is set at 50c so the cylinder will keep calling for heat, turn the boiler stat up until the display reads 75-80c.’

Comment

• DBMandrake
      Automated Home Legend
      • Sep 2014