Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Vallient VR33 module installation

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    29

    Question Vallient VR33 module installation

    Morning all,

    I've got a Vallient EcoTec and my plumbers coming over next week to help me reconfigure the system for EvoHome and OpenTherm.

    I know what I'm doing on the DHW setup from other posts, but I can't find straitforward instructions for the VR33 isntall in the boiler.

    I've found various Dutch forums (https://gathering.tweakers.net/forum...ssages/1796283) but Google translate I'm not 100% happy about giving it a go and possibly breaking the boiler.

    Has anyone in the UK done this and got a few bullet points on what goes where, which loops go on and off etc?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Lots of us in the UK have done it. What is the exact EcoTec model? I think my 438 was the only boiler where I had to go off piste a little with the installation. The rest are dead easy.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Lots of us in the UK have done it. What is the exact EcoTec model? I think my 438 was the only boiler where I had to go off piste a little with the installation. The rest are dead easy.
    Hi Bruce,

    thanks for coming back, massivley appreciated!

    It's an Vaillant ecotec plus 630.

    The plumber is coming on Monday and I've already got the module, so just need to know what goes where, what loops stay on / come off etc.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    I think the 630 is the same generation as my 438.

    So see http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...ll=1#post28823

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Actually ignore what I just said for a moment and post a picture of your boiler PCB. The 630 appears to use both the old style 7-8-9 terminal PCB as well as the 24VRT, Burner Off terminal PCB.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Hi Bruce,

    photos below. Would be great to know what I plug where etc.

    20180412_204428.jpg20180412_204409.jpg

    thanks


  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Yours is pretty straight forward as you have the new style PCB. You just need to put the Bridge back into that White socket called 24V RT, as you already have the Blue Burner bridge in and the pink eBUS socket needs to stay unbridged.
    The VR33 will slot into X31, which is hidden underneath those wires on the Left. The VR33 board itself has a nice slot on the Left hand side of that electrics box.
    Your OT bridge will plug into the VR33 plug via a 2 core wire. Even before the OT bridge is wired up you can do some quick checks to see if the boiler recognises the ne3 VR33 board and is able to fire up the boiler or not.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Brilliant thank you!

    Is there a cheatsheet for getting into the installer menu to check if it's seen?

    Also on the switched 240v that currently calls for heat, do i disconnect that, or make it permanent 240v?

    thanks

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Please tell your electrician deal with the 240V side of things. Some boilers will need it linked and some don't. You should follow the instructions in your boiler manual as though you are connecting an eBUS controller, which you basically are.

    When you connect the VR33, D.90 will go from 0 to 1 to indicate the boiler has recognised the eBUS controller. With the VR33 Link on, D.9 will show a target value of 90C and with it off the D.9 will drop to 0C or 10C. This same test can be performed after you wire the OT Bridge. Press the button in the front and the D.9 should jump to 90C. Also you want the OT Bridge LED to blink at regular intervals.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •