Thread: Central Heating Problem

Automated Home Lurker

Default Central Heating Problem

Hi - I have a question about how I can best solve an issue with my central heating system. I'm not a plumbing expert, so I don't know much about how I can resolve this or what options I have.

Currently we have radiators all through the house with individual thermostat valves on each radiator, which at the moment we just leave on full all the time. One of the radiators doesn't have these, because the installer said that there must still be something flowing if all the valves have been turned to the off position.

We have a Danfoss FP975 CH and HW control unit which allows each to be controlled independently, but the problem is that we end up just switching the heating on for an hour at a time (the timer has a button for this) which obviously doesn't maintain a contant heat through the house, especially during the night which can get very cold.

We can't switch it on 24/7 because the radiator without the valve will be on full blast all the time, even though we could turn down the others.

My dad has a system with individual thermostats in each room which works a treat, but I expect that would be expensive to retrofit, so the other option is a control box that allows you to to set the system so the heating comes on for 15mins each hour say for example.

Anyone got any ideas?

Is this just a naff system that's been installed?

Thanks for any suggestions

Dave.

Default Re: Central Heating Problem

The cheapest solution would be to just install a electronic wall thermostat somewhere suitable in the house. This just needs to go in series with the central heating supply. When the house reaches temperature, it turns off.

If the rooms reach temperature first, then the radiator thermostats take over.