Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Battery notifications

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Battery notifications

    It struck me the other day that we ought to have better notification when batteries need replacing. Currently it appears on the control panel, but if you donít look at it regularly then it disappears. You have to check settings and the log to see if there are any issues. Many users just will not know. They wonít dig into the control panel to check things and will then wonder why a radiator may fail or the hot water does not get hot. When my CCTV camera battery gets low I get a message, an email, to tell me. It must be possible for the control panel to send some sort of message to the app or trigger an email that batteries need changing. Honeywell?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Excellent enhancement suggestion - Seconded!

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default

    ^What he said :-)

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,665

    Default

    Even just an icon on the main screen to say there's unread stuff in the error log would be good.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,032

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    It struck me the other day that we ought to have better notification when batteries need replacing. Currently it appears on the control panel, but if you don’t look at it regularly then it disappears. You have to check settings and the log to see if there are any issues. Many users just will not know. They won’t dig into the control panel to check things and will then wonder why a radiator may fail or the hot water does not get hot.
    Actually that's not true - the warning only disappears if the fault "rectifies" itself. So in the case of a battery getting flat when the voltage is hovering around the point where it sends warnings, the fault can appear and disappear as the voltage fluctuates - and the log will show this. But once the battery is definitely flat the fault will remain on screen until dismissed - I've had this happen to me.

    Likewise a comms error with a BDR91 will appear on the home screen when it occurs and disappear when communication is reestablished, but if it is never reestablished it will remain on the screen until dismissed.
    When my CCTV camera battery gets low I get a message, an email, to tell me. It must be possible for the control panel to send some sort of message to the app or trigger an email that batteries need changing. Honeywell?
    It's baffling that fault notifications still can't be received via email or seen via the phone app.

    You can get an email alert to tell you the connection to the honeywell servers are down but not to tell you a radiator controller battery is flat! Madness...

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,665

    Default

    It's probably one of those "How do you get to X?" "I wouldn't start from Y" type problems.

    If stuff like this has been designed in from the start it would surely be easy. But Evohome is getting a bit long in the tooth now, and the platform it was built on might not have the flexibility needed for stuff like this.

    P.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,135

    Default

    It is certainly high time the app was updated both with respect to appearance and functionality and the Control Panel made more user friendly and provide better, information when matters need attention, and send it out. It could indicate which zone has fired up the boiler, for example, as well as a better message system to indicate battery failures. Those not technically minded may well miss the way it does it at present. I can think of one in my household who would! Plus the screen touch sensitivity could be better.

    It feels as though Honeywell May be looking at this as it has sort of stagnated for the 4 years I have had Evohome, but are they? When you look at the way other control apps now look, what they do, and the information you get, Evohome software seems very outdated. Even being able to operate it in Apple Home would be great. I get all sorts of data sent by the likes of Hue, Eve, Arlo etc. yet Evohome is not in their league when it comes to information. Needed information.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,135

    Default

    As an add on to my last post the new version of IOS 12 will have a shortcuts facility to enable all sorts of things to be easily operated via the Home App. Other heating control providers it seems are on board with this. I do live in hopes that Honeywell have this in hand.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,210

    Default

    As much as we tried we couldn't even work out how to poll the fault log via the HGI80, even though we know it is possible to do. I was hoping to then use Domoticz or something else to trigger an alert.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,032

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    It's probably one of those "How do you get to X?" "I wouldn't start from Y" type problems.

    If stuff like this has been designed in from the start it would surely be easy. But Evohome is getting a bit long in the tooth now, and the platform it was built on might not have the flexibility needed for stuff like this.

    P.
    In this particular instance I can't agree.

    The Wifi controller has both a persistent connection to the Honeywell servers, and over the air firmware update ability.

    Adding code to the controller to upload fault logs to their servers would be trivial.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •