Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: EvoHome self install

  1. #11
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    25

    Default

    What you've stated seems to contradict what the EvoHome brochure states:

    evohomeCapture.JPG

    evohome Radiator Multi-Zone Kit
    The evohome Radiator Multi-Zone kit provides 4 wireless radiator controller heads allowing
    you to create up to 5 zones one head per zone plus the evohome controller as a
    temperature sensing device in a zone. Individual radiator controllers are also available.


    I'm assuming that evohome controller refers to the wifi touch controller?

  2. #12
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnOC View Post
    What you've stated seems to contradict what the EvoHome brochure states:

    evohomeCapture.JPG

    evohome Radiator Multi-Zone Kit
    The evohome Radiator Multi-Zone kit provides 4 wireless radiator controller heads allowing
    you to create up to 5 zones – one head per zone plus the evohome controller as a
    temperature sensing device in a zone. Individual radiator controllers are also available.


    I'm assuming that evohome controller refers to the wifi touch controller?
    Very strange. That brochure contradicts advice given on here directly from the Honeywell guys, (Rameses and Top Brake) as well as the actual setup and installation guides.

    Also if you were to attempt to configure the system like that you'll quickly find that the system requires you to choose an actuator for every zone. In a zone with the Evotouch as sensor and no HR92, you have no actuator to choose so you can't complete the binding process for the zone.

    It is possible to work around that by choosing a zone valve actuator then backing out of the binding process for the zone valve, but I would consider that a hack, not a supported method.

    Double binding the boiler/heating relay as a zone valve relay for the zone is also not supported, and although appearing to work will result in constant errors in the fault log due to the double binding.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 29th September 2018 at 10:07 PM.

  3. #13
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnOC View Post
    What you've stated seems to contradict what the EvoHome brochure states:

    evohomeCapture.JPG

    evohome Radiator Multi-Zone Kit
    The evohome Radiator Multi-Zone kit provides 4 wireless radiator controller heads allowing
    you to create up to 5 zones one head per zone plus the evohome controller as a
    temperature sensing device in a zone. Individual radiator controllers are also available.


    I'm assuming that evohome controller refers to the wifi touch controller?
    I have moved away from an Evohome home; that said, in the 4 years that I used Evohome, I was convinced that a simple Evohome and 2 BDR (CH and HW) configuration would work. In a sense, it would be no different from a home with a single hall thermostat; that is, Evohome senses temperature too low and tells BDR to open zone valve and fire boiler.

    FWIW, going back to 3 simple thermostats/controllers is a bit of a pain but I have stopped worrying about loss of comms etc. If Hondywell ever produces son of Evohome, I might look at it again.

  4. #14
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    I have moved away from an Evohome home; that said, in the 4 years that I used Evohome, I was convinced that a simple Evohome and 2 BDR (CH and HW) configuration would work. In a sense, it would be no different from a home with a single hall thermostat; that is, Evohome senses temperature too low and tells BDR to open zone valve and fire boiler.
    Ok guys, we seem to be circling around and around here...

    If you read the installation guides you'll see that you can have a single zone without any actuator besides the BDR91 that controls the boiler/zone valve. This is a supported configuration and is designed to directly replace a conventional single thermostat.

    However this mode is only possible with a single zone. As soon as you have two or more zones you must have an actuator for each zone.

  5. #15
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    FWIW, going back to 3 simple thermostats/controllers is a bit of a pain but I have stopped worrying about loss of comms etc.
    Speaking of loss of comms, what's the comms performance like? I read that the range is 30 metres but how would that be affected by the signal having to penetrate 2 or 3 walls between the wifi touch controller and the HR92?

  6. #16
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnOC View Post
    Speaking of loss of comms, what's the comms performance like? I read that the range is 30 metres but how would that be affected by the signal having to penetrate 2 or 3 walls between the wifi touch controller and the HR92?
    You'd have to experiment in your own home to be certain. But I have a 4,000 sqft house which Evohome struggles with sometimes. It's fairly solidly built - i.e. block walls instead of stud, beam and block first floor instead of wood, etc. I have the controller positioned fairly carefully near the centre, and some of the radiators at the extremes lose contact now and again.

  7. #17
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    25

    Default

    As I may have mentioned, I already have a CM927 wireless thermostat which has a wireless relay connected to my boiler. Looking at photos in the EvoHome brochure, it would appear that my existing wireless relay is the same model as that which comes with the EvoHome kit I'm hopefully receiving tomorrow - can anyone confirm that's the case?
    If it's not the same, I guess I can at least reuse the mounting holes and wires that connect the relay to the combi boiler.
    Last edited by JohnOC; 2nd October 2018 at 08:29 PM.

  8. #18
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I also had a similar setup to yours before I moved to the Evohome system: A combi-boiler, a BDR91 relay box and a Honeywell CM927 wireless thermostat. Your existing relay box should work. You have to clear any previous bindings (see the guide).

    My old BDR91 developed a fault about 10 months after installing Evohome (flashing red led, comms faults, losing bindings). I replaced it with a newer BDR91. Installation was simple: remove the old BDR91 "faceplate" and replace it with the new one. It's been fine ever since. The newer BDR91's seems to have an updated "firmware" or version number.

  9. #19
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karrimor View Post
    I also had a similar setup to yours before I moved to the Evohome system: A combi-boiler, a BDR91 relay box and a Honeywell CM927 wireless thermostat. Your existing relay box should work. You have to clear any previous bindings (see the guide).

    My old BDR91 developed a fault about 10 months after installing Evohome (flashing red led, comms faults, losing bindings). I replaced it with a newer BDR91. Installation was simple: remove the old BDR91 "faceplate" and replace it with the new one. It's been fine ever since. The newer BDR91's seems to have an updated "firmware" or version number.
    Thanks for that, as my current wireless stat is almost 8 years old, I'll definitely replace the old BDR91 with the new one, should be easy enough I hope...
    Last edited by JohnOC; 2nd October 2018 at 11:56 PM.

  10. #20
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    25

    Thumbs up

    Well, my EvoHome is all installed and seemingly working!

    I was able to re-use the mounting plate of the BDR91 from my existing Honeywell wireless stat so fitting the new BDR91 was just a matter of unclipping the old and clipping in the new one which came with the Wifi Controller, which saved a lot of time and hassle. I didn't need to bind the the BDR91 as it was pre-bound, I guess because it came with the Wifi Controller.

    I felt that the setup process for the HR92s wasn't very user friendly: referring to the installation docs, it wasn't at all clear how to remove the top cap and how to insert the batteries, though I did manage to work it out and subsequently came across a few YouTube videos showing how it's done. The binding process was initially hit and miss too: following the instructions on how to put the TRV into binding mode, I kept getting a display of "English 1 1" and so had to navigate through the menus until I got to the Exit option, then I clicked the button to return to the TRV default state.

    I created and configured each of the 5 zones I created, binding each HR92 and fitting each one in turn. After completing the installation, I did a few tests to check that the boiler was firing when I turned up the heat on one of the TRVs, all seemed to work okay with no comms issues (though I haven't done a comms test).

    I installed the Honeywell Home iOS app and created an account, received an email asking me to verify the account which I did from my laptop, then logged in and tried to register the Wifi Controller but that failed due to an unspecified error reported by the web site, directing me to phone customer support. It took a few minutes to get through to a human being, I described the issue I'd encountered and was eventually told that registering via the iOS app was the cause of the problem. I wasn't convinced but proceeded to create a new account using the web browser on my laptop, and presto, it worked and I was able to register my Wifi Controller's MAC address. I asked the customer support lady to delete the account I'd created using my phone, she said she could if I provided a photo of the MAC address and the CRC code as printed on the controller.

    The app is useful for overriding schedules and other stuff, but one thing it doesn't do (as far as I can see) is to allow editing of schedules, so it's a bit limited in that respect.

    Time will tell how well my new EvoHome all works, hopefully it's a good investment.

    Thanks to everyone who patiently answered my questions in this thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •