Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Evohome Single Zone Not Working

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default Evohome Single Zone Not Working

    Hi everyone. So winter is coming around again, and so starts all the issues with the heating !! (

    Got an odd one here. I have a single zone that doesn't seem to be firing up the boiler. My set up is 8 zones in the house (1 for each rad). With all the other 7, if I request a higher room temperature than it currently is in that room, the valve opens, the boiler fires up and it all works.

    However, with the Conservatory, the HR92 responds, opens the valve on the radiator but the boiler never fires up and so the rad never gets hot. It used to work, but I noticed it stopped at the end of last year but would hope it would go away before the winter this year. lol

    I've deleted the Zone from the controller, reset the HR92, set the zone up again and rebound the HR92 but exactly the same thing ??!!!

    Does anyone have any ideas. Am I correct that it's the controller that's bound to the BDR91 Relay as setting up the HR92 and binding it, it doesn't ask about the Relay. Just makes it more odd, that if the other zones are working, I know the controller is talking to BDR92 ok, so what is going on with this radiator ??

    Any help would very much be appreciated, as I really do not want to have to reset the entire system and start from scratch. I had enough issues with it when I first set it up and don't want to go through that again !!

  2. #2
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I would do this:
    1. Undertake a RF Check at the HR92 in your conservatory and ensure you are getting 3-bars or more, if 1 or 2 assume marginal RF performance and low reliability of RF link.
    2. Check the batteries, Honeywell estimate a 2-year life, but it must depend on TRV workload, so if in an environment with many temperature changes (like a conservatory) it is possible they are depleted.
    3. Remove the HR92 and bring it nearer the Controller and demand heat manually as it sounds like a range issue, if so new batteries must be the next step.
    4. Exchange the HR92 with a known working one and see if the problem follows it, if so suspect a fault or try a reset.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,795

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f1arp72 View Post
    I've deleted the Zone from the controller, reset the HR92, set the zone up again and rebound the HR92 but exactly the same thing ??!!!
    Describe the steps you took to "reset" the HR92 ? Did you clear the binding on the HR92 ?

    This is done by doing a short press followed by a long press until BIND appears, then doing a long press until it says cleared. The "full reset" option in the main HR92 menu does not clear the binding. Neither does removing the batteries.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g6ejd View Post
    I would do this:
    1. Undertake a RF Check at the HR92 in your conservatory and ensure you are getting 3-bars or more, if 1 or 2 assume marginal RF performance and low reliability of RF link.
    2. Check the batteries, Honeywell estimate a 2-year life, but it must depend on TRV workload, so if in an environment with many temperature changes (like a conservatory) it is possible they are depleted.
    3. Remove the HR92 and bring it nearer the Controller and demand heat manually as it sounds like a range issue, if so new batteries must be the next step.
    4. Exchange the HR92 with a known working one and see if the problem follows it, if so suspect a fault or try a reset.
    Hi. Thanks for the reply. Ok ...

    1. RF check at HR92 in conservatory is 5 bars
    2. Batteries have been changed.
    3. Replacing the HR92 in the hallway (6 ft from controller) with the one from the conservatory seemed to work !!
    4. Not tried this yet seeing as 3 above seemed to have an effect.

    My question is, does the HR92 need to "talk" to the BDR91 Relay to actually call for heat, or does the HR92 talk to the Controller, then the controller speaks to the BDR91 Relay to call for the heat. Would like to know this for sure for peace of mind.

    If it's the former, this may be the issue?? Could be the fact that the HR92 can talk to the Controller with 5 bars, but for some reason when it then needs to talk to the BDR91 Relay to call for heat it can't "see it". It was my understanding though that HR92s only communicate with the Controller as it's the controller that's bound to the BDR91 Relay.

    Oddly enough, since moving it back to the conservatory, it seems to be working, although before I moved it to hallway it didn't appear to be functioning correctly. I wonder if I have some kind if intermittent fault with the HR92 ??

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Describe the steps you took to "reset" the HR92 ? Did you clear the binding on the HR92 ?

    This is done by doing a short press followed by a long press until BIND appears, then doing a long press until it says cleared. The "full reset" option in the main HR92 menu does not clear the binding. Neither does removing the batteries.
    Hi,

    Thanks, yes I did a short, then long press. The HR92 had "Unbound" on display after I did that, then I bound it to new zone I'd set up again.

    However, you're comment about "Full Reset" is interesting, as to me, it doesn't appear to do a damn thing ??? Am I meant to see anything happen when I select "Full Reset" ??!!!!

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default

    The HR92 is bound to the controller as is the BDR91 on that basis the controller is the hub and the HR92 demands heat from the controller that then demands heat via the BDR91, there is no direct HR92 to BDR91 communication.

    Exchanging and rebinding the HR92's seems like the best diagnostic test to undertake to see if the problem follows the unit.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Was your reset following this sequence: Follow the process for binding but hold button down on binding for 15 secs - this is a hard reset.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I have EXACTLY the same problem!! Did you manage to get find a resolution? I have started a thread on the issue

    GP

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by gcpeters View Post
    I have EXACTLY the same problem!! Did you manage to get find a resolution? I have started a thread on the issue

    GP
    Sorry everyone, not had a chance to visit forum for a while. No, I'm afraid I've never found a solution to this. I seem to have very random results and as of this moment, I've asked for heat in the conservatory and it's worked, but other days, it simply doesn't. The HR92 gets the request, opens the valve but the boiler never fires up.

    The last thing I tried has totally baffled me to the point I've given up. The rad in hallway always worked fine, but the one in the conservatory is the problematic one. So, I simply swapped the valves over, and renamed the zones (Schedule was the same anyway). Now, that initially worked, then next day, I asked for heat in conservatory and nothing. Valve opened, but the boiler doesn't fire. I leave it 10 mins, then ask for heat in Hallway (which used to be HR92 in conservatory which was problematic) and it worked fine and hallway has worked fine ever since.

    So, nothing wrong with HR92s. They both work in hallway, but not in conservatory. This leads me to believe there's some 2 way communication error, even though I get 5 bars when testing signal and the HR92 opens and closes as expected. It's simple the fact that the boiler doesn't fire up "sometimes" when asking for heat in conservatory.

    I wish for the days when heating was a simple affair with just a single thermostat !!

    I've never been confident with this system and have always regretted spending the money installing it. I get temperature overshoots, it cuts my boiler out (never used to do that), I have this issue of not firing boiler from one location, and also the optimum stop setting stops so early, the temperature drop 2 degrees below target temperature before the schedule changes. Just unlucky I guess.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I would wait for the problem to occur then unclip the HR92 and move it closer to the Controller and simulate a demand for heat by turning the top of the HR92 and if that works then turn it down and confirm that works takes a while. It does sound like a communication error to me. It's a fact that UHF RF is affected by air pressure, density, humidity to name a few environmental affects so for me of no surprise there is variability but only when the signal is marginal or something is in the way one day but not the next. To simulate this at 70cms or 440MHz I can hold my transceiver in one place and it receives the Amateur Radio repeater in Bath with a high signal strength, then move it 35cms and there is no signal, so at HR92 frequencies of 868Mhz half those distances and you see what's called standing waves or freznnel zones can be a real issue. My informed guess is something is diffferent in the house between working and not working; been raining; metal framed door open, usually closed; washing hanging around; clothes hangers around (seriously); pressure up; coincidentally we currently have high pressure over us in the South. It does not solve your problem but look out for something changing as to the clues to a solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •