Page 6 of 36 FirstFirst 123456789101116 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 357

Thread: Evohome app broken

  1. #51
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karrimor View Post
    On Honeywell's twitter feed, there are quite a few complaints about the app not working.
    See: https://twitter.com/Honeywell_Home/with_replies

    "App and website do not agree with the physical unit. "
    The fun and games never end it seems! Now I seem to be having an issue with the iPhone app and website reporting set points that don't match my schedule:

    Wrong setpoints.jpg
    According to this my heating and hot water have been on all day while I'm at work when it shouldn't be! Everything should be off today with one exception - I set the Living room to a manual override of 23 degrees all day to finish drying out carpet that has just been cleaned. So that 23 degree override to 8pm is correct. Every single other zone is wrong and should be 5 degrees and hot water off.

    So anyone want to guess what is going on ? From looking at the temperatures and the manual override in the bathroom this is what I would have expected to see at about 7am this morning, almost as if it took a snapshot of the conditions then and has stuck there... If the unit had lost comms with Honeywell the App normally reports that it has lost communication with the servers and I would get an email alert as well - no email alert received, so Honeywell seems to think the unit is still communicating.

    Given the problems some of us have had with the API/Apps getting out of sync with the real state of the system I really have no idea whether all these zones are on at the moment or not and have no way to know until I get home.

    It looks almost as if the clock on the device has stopped at 7am and remained stuck on that part of the schedule - and we have certainly seen reports of stopped clocks on the Evotouch before.

    Changing the system to away mode using the app results in it saying away but the set points don't change to 10C as they should. It's hard to have faith in remote control of Evohome when the remote control has so many issues!

    Anyone else having remote control trouble today ? BTW, my Raspberry Pi which runs my evohome-munin graphing system is not plugged in today as the furniture including TV cabinet where it resides is out of the living room, so I am not polling the API's at all other than trying to use the Honeywell iPhone app.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 20th November 2018 at 03:39 PM.

  2. #52
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    217

    Default

    All OK today here with my system via the Android app, website and API.

    Dan

  3. #53
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanD View Post
    All OK today here with my system via the Android app, website and API.

    Dan
    Nothing here today as well. Somewhat puzzled about the statement that `everything should be off`and at the same time an override being active on one specific zone. AFAIK that is not possible, but I would also not expect Evohome to simply reset the system state from `Heating Off` to `Auto` when an override is submitted.

  4. #54
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    42

    Default

    I had exactly this issue a couple of weeks ago but things have been more stable recently. I also noticed that when I was at home, if I made changes on the App, they were reflected on the App but never appeared on the Control Unit and hence weren't ever implemented on the system.

  5. #55
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordonb3 View Post
    Nothing here today as well. Somewhat puzzled about the statement that `everything should be off`and at the same time an override being active on one specific zone. AFAIK that is not possible, but I would also not expect Evohome to simply reset the system state from `Heating Off` to `Auto` when an override is submitted.
    Simple really. I meant that all zones were scheduled to 5 degrees (as close to off as you ever get in Evohome, as even the Heating Off action is just a 5 degree set point on the HR92!) except for the one that had a manual override.

    I have a slightly embarrassing confession to make after my rant, I got home that night and found my darling 2 year old had switched off the power to the broadband modem that morning, something he has never done before...

    However in my defence, on all previous occasions when the Evotouch has lost its connection to the Honeywell servers the iPhone app clearly shows a black bar across the bottom saying something like "Communication with the system lost" and I also receive an email alert to tell me communication has been lost. The email alert is usually the first thing that alerts me to the lost connection. However in this case I had no email alert (and also did not receive a communication restored email when I fixed the problem 10 hours later) and no black bar on the iPhone app - which continued to pretend that everything was just fine and dandy, letting me change modes and apply overrides that never really took effect.

    So the loss of comms was my fault, but the failure to inform me of a loss of comms either by email or in the app still lies with Honeywell. And that's not an issue I've ever seen before as it has previously been reliable about reporting loss of comms from the controller to Honeywell servers. (I did get a failed zone change alert when trying to make a change, but that can sometimes happen even when the controller is connected, so I didn't think much of it)
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 22nd November 2018 at 04:34 PM.

  6. #56
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    96

    Default

    I've a problem with both the android and ios versions of the app miss-reporting temperatures in a couple of zones today. System and controller are both working OK however.

    Is it just me or is there a more widespread problem?

  7. #57
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I noticed the same issue shortly before midnight.

    I'm resigned to the fact that this is now a "persistent feature" of the Honeywell app/service - just like the "feature" that forgets your app login credentials and forces you to re-enter your username and password!

  8. #58
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    125

    Default

    I've noticed recently I get emails when service is restored, but not when it's lost.

  9. #59
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterf View Post
    I've a problem with both the android and ios versions of the app miss-reporting temperatures in a couple of zones today. System and controller are both working OK however.

    Is it just me or is there a more widespread problem?
    I'm getting this with my hot water. Stuck at 22 on the app but the controller is now displaying the correct temperature.

  10. #60
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peterf View Post
    I've a problem with both the android and ios versions of the app miss-reporting temperatures in a couple of zones today. System and controller are both working OK however.

    Is it just me or is there a more widespread problem?
    I seem to be able to use the app normally but everytime I try to do something with SmartThings Iím receiving an alert for failed system or zone changes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •