Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Double x10 light switches

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    Default Double x10 light switches

    All the light switches in my house have doulbe switches to control two lights on each. eg hall and bathroom. Are there any x10 devices out there to control two dimable lightswitches?

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,028

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Yes and no.
    I'm assuming that the 2 switches are contained within one face plate.
    There are whats called micro modules these fit behind european switch boxes they are about 19mm thick by about 46mm square. You may be able to fit 2 behind the switch.
    I have seen exactly what you are looking for but can't remember where. It may have just been a prototype. Will see if I can find out where I saw it for you.
    The modules you would need would be either an LWM1 Micromodule or an LW12. The LW12 is only one way ie it doesn't transmit its status but does have the added benifit of not needing a neutral wire

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Got the same problem myself I was going to see if it was possible to wire them into one switch, so both lights are controlled by one switch. Using the LW10U. Anyone know if this is possible and if so how to wire it !?

    Also I have found what I think is the micro module, link below.
    From Japan and its says its X10 2 which I havent come across in the uk and looks better than the existing X10 devices. But still compatible with the old x10 devices.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d..._BID_Stores_IT

    This user also sells a double light switch. Which I havent been able to find in the uk!

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d..._BID_Stores_IT

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Quote Originally Posted by pjames
    All the light switches in my house have doulbe switches to control two lights on each. eg hall and bathroom. Are there any x10 devices out there to control two dimable lightswitches?
    Two option ,1) use two load micro switch hidden it at your existing wall switch
    2) use double button wall switch for replace your org. wall switch.

    Please see my web site.
    ============================
    Kevin Lo
    New X10 Product for 220V Countries !
    http://www.automation-at-home.com
    http://x10-hk.com/store/
    ============================

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,028

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Those items on ebay look very similar to what I was taking about above.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-X10-Home-A...QQcmdZViewItem

    The double dimmer switch that is advertised on ebay looks exactly right. Is it compatible in the uk as it comes from japan?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Yes , it compatible in the UK. But those switch is come from Hong Kong , not Japan.
    ============================
    Kevin Lo
    New X10 Product for 220V Countries !
    http://www.automation-at-home.com
    http://x10-hk.com/store/
    ============================

  8. #8
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Hi,

    Just thought I would post here, to say Kevin, the chap on ebay in Hong Kong selling the X10 devices above has agreed to send me one of the 2-load micro modules, and I will be paying on receipt and when I am happy with it.

    He has also posted in this thread.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-X10-Home-A...QQcmdZViewItem

    So I will keep you posted.

    I think that, the gesture goes to show that the devices should live up to expectations.
    Cheers

    Dan

  9. #9

    Default Re: Double x10 light switches

    Thanks for the update Dan.

    Could you take some photos when it arrives and write a review of the unit for us?

    M.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Sure, no problem
    Cheers

    Dan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •