Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5

    Default 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    Has anyone any information on these new X10 modules offered from Hong Kong on ebay ?

    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Automation-at-Home

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    funny, I asked the same question here

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/modul...asc&highlight=

    and then there was talk of it here.

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/modul...asc&highlight=
    Cheers

    Dan

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Slough, Berks
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    I've just ordered some of the peices, so I can update you on how good or bad they are.

    I should get them by Christmas.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    If you are ordering the appliance type switches, I would be careful as in the description it says for fluro lights and in the manual it says not for fluro lights!...
    Cheers

    Dan

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    Just got my big pack of the new x10sq modules through. Blue LED's and very slim/small making the old modules look dated. They work really well, got plug in switch/dimmer and wall switch/dimmer modules - also tried the claim of btter responce to weaker signals and it seems to be true, had a socket in my house (which is wired 3 phase) which would not work (i even have the 3 phase booster module wired in at the meter) and now it seems fine. Nice point is that the blue LED on the plug in modules just flashes when the device is switched. Also has an on off soft switch on the actual modules so no more unplug - replug to get this to come on manually. 10/10 so far...

    Daniel

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Slough, Berks
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    I can't wait to get mine!

    @Danny - Did you order the IR balster by any chance ?
    Would be interesting to see how well that works....

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member wywywywy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Sorry to sound daft but... I can't see a blue LED on the wall switch from the pic of the eBay page?

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    Has anyone received any of these that can comment on their build quality and effectiveness? I am seeking to use some of the double micro switches.

    Steve

  9. #9
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: 2nd Generation X10 Modules

    Quote Originally Posted by theendisnye
    Has anyone received any of these that can comment on their build quality and effectiveness? I am seeking to use some of the double micro switches.

    Steve
    I have a double load 3 wire micro module.

    The module works very well, and is near silent in operation. I found installation a breeze.

    One thing to beware of, is that the control wires exit at the back of the module in such a way as it would be possible to crush them. I added some spacing washers behind my module before I secured in position.

    The other thing to be aware of is that the control wires, have no strain releif as they leave the module to stop them pulling on the pcb were they are attached by solder. I opened my module and just put a loose "knot" in them as a group to help with that.

    Don't be too frierce with tightening the load and neutral or live connections either. These are only secured by solder to the pcb. There is not a lot of support in the case for them.

    I did not have any problems with all of the above, they were just points I noticed when I opened up the modules.

    These devices do not support 2-way com's either, unlike the modules availble from UK suppliers.

    On the whole I have found the module to be good. It has not missed a beat yet.

    Hope that helps
    Cheers

    Dan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •