Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Haunted EvoHome

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member Freeco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    11

    Angry Haunted EvoHome

    From time to time our EvoHome system seems haunted. I mean, at times it's not following its program. Not often, but it's annoying.
    2 simple examples:
    1. Last autumn or so all of a sudden our bathroom zone (2 HR92's) jumped to the max temp (which I had luckily reduced from the max 35C(?) to 26C) for no reason. I think this happened twice.
    Last year I called a Honeywell representative about this, and he said to do a full reset of the HR92s. He explained an undocumented trick: go to the bind menu of the HR92, and keep pressing the button for 5-10sec until it actually unbinds. Then add it to the zone again. He claimed this gets rid of any remnants from a previous zone config. I was doubtful but gave it a try, and this issue hasn't come up anymore since.
    2. Today both our living room zone (4 HR92's) & bathroom zone were set to 16C. While they should have been 20.5 and 19 respectively since 16:30. My wife noticed the zones were still green when she came home from work, while they should have been orange. She took a picture of the console to prove it to me.
    IMG-20190516-WA0000.jpg

    We don't have kids or pets that potentially mess about with the HR92's. This just happens on its own.

    Anyone else having this?
    Is there a way to get logs from the console, so I can have a bit more insight on what's actually happening? (I'm an IT guy, so I love logs )
    Any other tricks to undocumented tricks prevent this?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Looking at the image you posted, a) it appears to be an over-ride, and b) looking at the schedule timeline it appears to have only just happened before the photo was taken.

    Did your missus also take a photo of the main screen? That might give a clue as to whether the override was initiated locally or remotely.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member Freeco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    11

    Default

    no, only this picture.
    How would you be able to tell the difference between a local and remote override?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Freeco View Post
    no, only this picture.
    How would you be able to tell the difference between a local and remote override?
    The override icon is different.

    P.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member Freeco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    11

    Default

    ah, I see. An override from the app is shown with a smartphone icon, right?
    Well, we don't use the app too often. Definitely not that day.
    And my account has a long and complex passw. So unlikely someone is having fun with my account.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    App or any other non-local override (e.g. using the API from other software) shows the phone icon.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •