Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Drayton Wiser Experience on a large system.

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    9

    Default Drayton Wiser Experience on a large system.

    A while ago I had a few conversations here about what to do with my new heating system, so thought I'd post details of how I did it and a few glitches I had to solve along the way:

    My system: 2 Worcester Boilers into a low loss header with 3 outflow channels: DHW, Central Heating 1 (lower 2 floors), Central Heating 2 (upper two floors). Approx 15 rads on each of the central heating circuits. Each circuit on has a zone valve and it's own Grundfos circulator pump on it. All a completely brand new install in a large victorian house over 4 floors.

    Wiser system: Wiser 3 channel Kit, 2 x Room Thermostats, TRVs on all rads apart from the towel rails (3 of them, all on heating circuit 2).

    Wiring
    : This was the first time that the heating company that fitted our heating system had installed a Drayton Wiser system, and they needed to get in a little extra help for wiring the box to control the zone valves and pumps and 2 boilers correctly, but didn't seem to be too much of a problem in the end. They sorted the system to the stage where it was powered on and worked 'manually' and then I did all the smart stuff.

    TRV Bodies: I installed 30 odd new rads, and so needed TRV bodies to match up with the drayton TRV Head - I bought the Drayton TRV4 valve bodies on their own - found them on eBay and they were 8 each.

    Initial set up via the app.
    This was tricky, and has a number of glitches that got me quite angry at the time. My problem: Could create a local account (part 1 of the setup, ie. set up the system in our own house), and could set up an online account (part 2 of the setup), but then got errors every time their system tried to pair the online user account to my house/hub account. The Drayton customer service team were excellent on this front, and eventually made enough suggestions that it worked. They are very good at answering the phone (usually get to speak to a real person within 30seconds), and the same person called back or emailed frequently until the problem was sorted, so I didn't have to explain it over and over again). If you get this problem, the things I did that ended up sorting it were:

    • Put wifi router into manual channel mode, rather than auto-channel
    • Disabled mobile data on my phone while in setup mode
    • Used a separate laptop for the email verification part.
    • Deleted anything on the registration form that was 'Autofilled' by my phone and re-entered it manually, and entered house name as only a number, and place I live as ONLY the first word, and the Postcode with NO spaces


    Once I got passed this hurdle, it's worked perfectly.

    Signal issues
    My house is victorian, has thick solid walls, and takes 6 google wifi hubs to get my wifi-signal around the house satisfactorily. Signal was therefore high on my list of worries! I have been very pleasantly surprised...
    I have 3 'smart plugs' , One on each of the ground, 1st, 2nd floor, acting as signal boosters. I have had zero problems with signal, and they all work nicely! Have been really pleasantly surprised by it.

    TRV Noise
    I don't know how loud the honeywell/tado/heatgenius ones are, but the Wiser ones certainly don't wake me up, and i'm a light sleeper.

    TRV Look
    They look a lot less intrusive than the Honeywell ones

    Wall Thermostat
    Key info on this: it overrides any TRVs in the room, so good if you've got a room with multiple rads in when the TRVs are hidden behind sofas or something.

    Anyway, hope that is helpful to anybody looking at what to do; I would certainly recommend the system, as long as you're willing to get a little bit hands on at the start.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    If you're still around (or for anyone else with Wiser) - how are you getting on with this? Have you had any issues with it?

    I'm thinking of taking the plunge on a large-ish system too - 2 CH + HW zones with ~ 13 radiators in each.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fezster View Post
    If you're still around (or for anyone else with Wiser) - how are you getting on with this? Have you had any issues with it?

    I'm thinking of taking the plunge on a large-ish system too - 2 CH + HW zones with ~ 13 radiators in each.
    Hi Fezter

    Getting on fine. Since I got the initial set up sorted, which was a little tricky as I mentioned below, it has been pretty much plain sailing. I had the whole system off for 6 months and when I switched it back on it went straight back to full functionality. Some of the TRVs had sat in their boxes for 8 months before being opened, and had old firmware. They took a bit of perseverance to get connected, but once connected, they updated their firmware, and worked nicely.

    There are a few outstanding things I'd like Wiser to add to their functionality, which are

    1. Better home/away geofencing functionality.
    2. Ability to group whole areas to boost them all at once (for example - boost all zones on the ground floor, or all zones on one or other circuit).
    3. Make their Heat Report available on the internet rather than just the App.

    Otherwise, no problems here. Valves don't wake us up, and we have three in our bedroom.

    All is well!

    Cheers, and if you need any help, just ask!

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Thanks! That's positive that it's been working OK, as I've read they had plenty of problems in the early days, which seem to have been ironed out.

    Do you know if you have a wall thermostat and trv in the same room, is the first device registered used to measure the temperature, or is it always the wall thermostat?

    Also, is it possible to group multiple rooms into one zone (eg. Kids rooms) and control them all at once?

    I plan on installing in the next few days. I know I'll be needing range extenders and missed out on the amazon 22 offer this morning.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Finally taken the plunge with Wiser, with the amazon deal yesterday.

    Ordered the 3 zone kit (2 x CH + 1 x HW) and 10 TRV's for downstairs. Another 11 TRV's for upstairs are coming in a week, but I'll cancel them if I'm not happy with how the system performs.

    Had a few glitches initially - the first thermostat I tried to bind would not do so. However, after messing around for 10 mins and then pulling the batteries and trying again, it was fine. The other thermostat and all 10 TRV's bound easily enough.

    I was concerned about signal problems, so had ordered 3 range extenders, but they wont be delivered till later today. However, despite the furthest downstairs radiator being over 16m away and going through 2 walls, so far it has been fine.

    A couple of early observations:

    1. The TRV temperature seems to be at least a degree higher than the wall thermostat.
    2. The wall thermostat, annoyingly, switches it's display off after a few seconds, similar to Hive.
    3. The wiser heat hub seems to have some logic with regards to how often it fires the boiler. I need to spend some time looking at this, but if I have a single zone calling for heat - despite it not reaching temperature, sometimes the heat hub turns the boiler off (note - im not talking about the boiler cycling here). I've not enabled Comfort or Eco modes, so this must be default logic.

    I'll post updates as I evaluate the system. So far, though, I'd say whatever teething issues they had initially with setup and signal, have been resolved (aside from that initial glitch I had!).

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fezster View Post
    Finally taken the plunge with Wiser, with the amazon deal yesterday.

    Ordered the 3 zone kit (2 x CH + 1 x HW) and 10 TRV's for downstairs. Another 11 TRV's for upstairs are coming in a week, but I'll cancel them if I'm not happy with how the system performs.

    Had a few glitches initially - the first thermostat I tried to bind would not do so. However, after messing around for 10 mins and then pulling the batteries and trying again, it was fine. The other thermostat and all 10 TRV's bound easily enough.

    I was concerned about signal problems, so had ordered 3 range extenders, but they wont be delivered till later today. However, despite the furthest downstairs radiator being over 16m away and going through 2 walls, so far it has been fine.

    A couple of early observations:

    1. The TRV temperature seems to be at least a degree higher than the wall thermostat.
    2. The wall thermostat, annoyingly, switches it's display off after a few seconds, similar to Hive.
    3. The wiser heat hub seems to have some logic with regards to how often it fires the boiler. I need to spend some time looking at this, but if I have a single zone calling for heat - despite it not reaching temperature, sometimes the heat hub turns the boiler off (note - im not talking about the boiler cycling here). I've not enabled Comfort or Eco modes, so this must be default logic.

    I'll post updates as I evaluate the system. So far, though, I'd say whatever teething issues they had initially with setup and signal, have been resolved (aside from that initial glitch I had!).
    Brilliant. Glad to hear it's working.

    It's not perfect, but for me it was the best thing out there. Evohome needs to drag itself into the 21st century, and Wiser has beaten them to it.

    Hope that they will add 'control multiple zones at once' control as you asked about; that would be helpful, and just a simple software fix.

    Let me know how you get on with time!

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    So I setup domoticz last night and a dashticz dashboard - all the zones can be displayed and adjusted from it (!). Opens up a load of possibilities with regards to having a wall mounted display in the house to control the entire system.

    More details here: https://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewt...p?f=34&t=28585

    The Wiser Heat Hub is accessible over the network once you discover the secret key for it. This means all aspects of it are controllable using a Rest API.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fezster View Post
    3. The wiser heat hub seems to have some logic with regards to how often it fires the boiler. I need to spend some time looking at this, but if I have a single zone calling for heat - despite it not reaching temperature, sometimes the heat hub turns the boiler off (note - im not talking about the boiler cycling here). I've not enabled Comfort or Eco modes, so this must be default logic.
    Forgot to update here - this was, of course, due to TPI. Missed that.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    8

    Default

    fezster, I've responded to your post (#5) on another forum but I've also been on this one for a short while as well. I've look at (and downloaded) the domoticz files etc but I have no clue about how to run or use them. Any chance you can point me to an useful guide or provide me with an idiots guide please as I'd be keen to see what useful info etc I can get through this system. Cheers!

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Yes sure - do you have domoticz installed on Windows? I run mine in Docker, so it was slightly more complicated, but on Windows should be relatively easy.

    Once installed, download the Drayton Wiser plugin from here: https://github.com/bloob00k/domoticz

    Put it in your Domoticz install folder\plugins.

    Make sure you have python 3.7+ installed and then restart Domoticz. You should see a browser window open and the Domoticz main page.

    Then go to Setup -> Hardware. In the "Type" dropdown, you should see Drayton Wiser. Add that.

    You will need your Heat Hub's ip address and secret key. You can find how to get these from here: https://github.com/connor9/python-draytonwiser-api

    Let me know how you get on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •