Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Hot water not coming on when requested

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default Hot water not coming on when requested

    Hello guys, I have had my system installed for nearly 2 years now and for most of it it works flawlessly. I even have it integrated in to Alexa :-) :-)
    Since day one though I have always been getting a boiler actuator relay fault. As the heating and hot water were both working as normal I just used to cancel the message. After doing a bit of research I found that this could be caused by double bonding. So on the controller I removed the stored hot water or should I say disabled and on the heating control I selected none. I then went on and selected enabled for the sored hot water and went through the bonding process with the cs92. I then get the success and it asks me what sort of system, I select 2 or 3 valve and it asks me to bond again which I am presuming they mean the BDR91 which I go through the 15 sec and 5 sec routing I get the success again and it asks me to bond the heating actuator which again I am presuming they mean the other BDR91 I have connected to my heating. All seemed to go through without any problem. However the boiler will not come on when I request the hot water on and although the heating will come on and go off the green light on the BDR91 is staying on even though the boiler is off. Have any of you far more knowledgeable chaps than me got any ideas as to where I have gone wrong?
    Thanks
    Will

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Update, after an hour the green light went off :-) :-)

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    OK, in case any other member has a problem like mine I have managed to fix it by doing a complete factory reset and rebonding 14 HR92, 2 x BDR91 and the cs92. Had to do it twice as the first time the heating was coming on when the hot water was switched on. Now fingers crossed all seems good to go. I'll be an expert at this malarkey before long :-) :-)

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Spoke to soon, Heating coming on, or should I say the heating BDR is turning on when the hot water BDR comes on :-( :-(

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willdonal View Post
    Spoke to soon, Heating coming on, or should I say the heating BDR is turning on when the hot water BDR comes on :-( :-(
    When setting up there is a sequence to follow which I think I remember correctly is to set up the hot water function first and then configure zones. I had issues when I first installed Evohome 4.5 years ago but doing a fresh installation and following guidance the Evohome Shop gave in these pages all worked.

    The other possibility for your problem may be the proximity of the relays and devices to each other. A minimum of 30cms separation is recommended.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    It sounds like your hot water BDR is double-bound. Did you clear the bindings from all devices (BDRs, CS92, HR92s) when you reinstalled?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    When setting up there is a sequence to follow which I think I remember correctly is to set up the hot water function first and then configure zones. I had issues when I first installed Evohome 4.5 years ago but doing a fresh installation and following guidance the Evohome Shop gave in these pages all worked.

    The other possibility for your problem may be the proximity of the relays and devices to each other. A minimum of 30cms separation is recommended.
    Thanks for the reply. Originally the BDR's were side by side as the installer hadn't read the installation procedure properly. I then got an official Honeywell installer to come down and sort it out. the first thing he did was to move the 2 BDR's so there was a 300mm gap between them and any other pipes etc. I did set the water side up first but got a bit confused when after binding the cs92 it then asks me what type of system I have, I then have to bind the Hot water BDR but it then asks me to bond the heating BDR. Then when I go back to the setting I then select the boiler control and select wireless relay box and it asks me to bond it again. So I'm presuming this is where the double bonding comes in. I have played around with different selections and at the moment I have got it back to square one where I am getting a boiler relay fault coming up but at least the heating is not coming on with the water.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dty View Post
    It sounds like your hot water BDR is double-bound. Did you clear the bindings from all devices (BDRs, CS92, HR92s) when you reinstalled?
    Hi, yes I did the old press for 15 seconds till it flashed quickly then 5 seconds to make it flash slowly, then did the bonding

  9. #9
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willdonal View Post
    Thanks for the reply. Originally the BDR's were side by side as the installer hadn't read the installation procedure properly. I then got an official Honeywell installer to come down and sort it out. the first thing he did was to move the 2 BDR's so there was a 300mm gap between them and any other pipes etc. I did set the water side up first but got a bit confused when after binding the cs92 it then asks me what type of system I have, I then have to bind the Hot water BDR but it then asks me to bond the heating BDR. Then when I go back to the setting I then select the boiler control and select wireless relay box and it asks me to bond it again. So I'm presuming this is where the double bonding comes in. I have played around with different selections and at the moment I have got it back to square one where I am getting a boiler relay fault coming up but at least the heating is not coming on with the water.
    If you don't have a BDR controlling the boiler, you probably shouldn't bind a BDR in the boiler control section!

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dty View Post
    If you don't have a BDR controlling the boiler, you probably shouldn't bind a BDR in the boiler control section!
    Hi, thanks for the reply. I have 1 BDR to control the water, eg to turn the boiler on to heat the water and another BDR to turn the boiler on for the heating. Would I not require the 2 BDR's to control the separate systems?
    Cheers
    Will

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •