Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Evohome zone problem.

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default Evohome zone problem.

    Hmmm, can't figure this one out.

    I have a zone on the top floor of my house with 4 actuators however which simply won't kick their radiators into life. The radiators all work fine with TRVs on and the actuators all work when put on other radiators but they will not switch the radiators on and off on the top floor. I wondered whether it might be because they aren't picking up the signal from the controller but they do seem to change when I change the temperature settings, they just don't open up as required.

    I've changed all the batteries, deleted the zone and recreated it and tried with just one actuator, all without any joy.

    Any ideas or thoughts very welcome!

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Are they mounted cleanly with the locking lever in place? Also are the valve bodies the same as are in zones which respond properly?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi BuxtonJim. Many thanks - yes, I tightened all 4 and made sure they fitted on properly and latched on. Not sure what you mean about the "valve bodies" - the actuators all fit on in the same way as those in zones which work correctly.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Hi Evo -user. I wondered whether for some reason your top floor TRVs were a different model from others you have and perhaps needed adaptors. By valve body I meant what's left on the radiator when you take the actuator off the top.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I'm with you. Actually one of them did need an adapter but the other three all fit on in the same way so I don't think it's that. When they were installed all the zones worked no problem but at some point the top floor became an issue. Not sure that helps!

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,844

    Default

    Sounds like an incompatibility or problem with the valve bodies on that top floor.

    Forget about wireless comms for the moment - try turning the temperature setting on the HR92 itself to a high temperature, and listen for the motor whiring to open the valve. If it still doesn't get hot (assuming some other rooms are calling for heat to get the boiler running, so turn up some other zone a couple of degrees higher than the current temperature before testing) its a mechanical problem.

    Next test - remove the HR92 from the radiator but leave the white and black plastic base on the radiator. Turn the black wheel fully anti-clockwise. Does it get hot now ? (For this test to work some other room in the house must be calling for heat as above as this HR92 will not call for heat when removed from the base)

    If yes, try setting the HR92 Stroke setting (option 6) to 1. However this should be considered a workaround for a partially incompatible valve body and still not give a fully satisfactory result.

    If it still does not get hot when you turn the black wheel anti-clockwise but it does get hot if you unscrew the entire plastic base from the radiator then your radiator valve bodies are not compatible dimensionally, for example the pin is probably too long and is therefore always pushed down to the closed position. The HR92 can only effect 4mm of total pin travel so the pin only has to be 4mm too long before the HR92 can't open the valve at all.

    Not all M30 x1.5 radiator valve bodies are compatible!
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 13th November 2019 at 10:00 AM.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Evo user View Post
    Hmmm, can't figure this one out.

    I have a zone on the top floor of my house with 4 actuators however which simply won't kick their radiators into life. The radiators all work fine with TRVs on and the actuators all work when put on other radiators but they will not switch the radiators on and off on the top floor. I wondered whether it might be because they aren't picking up the signal from the controller but they do seem to change when I change the temperature settings, they just don't open up as required.

    I've changed all the batteries, deleted the zone and recreated it and tried with just one actuator, all without any joy.

    Any ideas or thoughts very welcome!
    My initial reaction is signal strength as there is more than one radiator affected and the HR92s work fine on other radiators? It points to the message not getting through.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks v much both, I will test both these thoughts and report back.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Have you tried sitting next to the radiator and using your phone to set very high and 5 deg temperatures and waiting up to 5 mins to see if you can hear actuator responding.
    Also is the problem the radiators not coming on or not going off?

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Evo user View Post
    .

    .... The radiators all work fine with TRVs on ...
    I assume this means that an air lock can be ruled out?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •