Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 80

Thread: Evohome Hot water problems

  1. #61
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Out of interest, have you tried rebooting the controller since the new batteries were fitted.

  2. #62
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmcgavock View Post
    Out of interest, have you tried rebooting the controller since the new batteries were fitted.
    Yep, I have.

  3. #63
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Laughably I've just had a Comms error after being away for 9 days. Turned system back on before we were heading home, glanced at the App to find our HW at 66oc! On return looking at the log there was a Comms error on the day of our return, specifically when I turned the system back on.

    Now all I can assume from this our HW was on 21oc before the system was turned back on - usually it never drops below 30oc as it's set to reheat when in use. No Comms issues since our return or any issues at all.

    Now my question would be - does your HW regularly drop below 30oc or so @DBMandrake?

  4. #64
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmcgavock View Post
    Laughably I've just had a Comms error after being away for 9 days. Turned system back on before we were heading home, glanced at the App to find our HW at 66oc! On return looking at the log there was a Comms error on the day of our return, specifically when I turned the system back on.

    Now all I can assume from this our HW was on 21oc before the system was turned back on - usually it never drops below 30oc as it's set to reheat when in use. No Comms issues since our return or any issues at all.

    Now my question would be - does your HW regularly drop below 30oc or so @DBMandrake?
    Mine does if it is used but then I only have Evohome switch it on for an hour in the morning and 30 minutes at night. Currently it is at 37c but will drop below that overnight. But then there is only Evohome controlling the hot water, no reheat setting. It does not usuall go below 30c but that is dependent on the house temperature.

  5. #65
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmcgavock View Post
    Laughably I've just had a Comms error after being away for 9 days. Turned system back on before we were heading home, glanced at the App to find our HW at 66oc! On return looking at the log there was a Comms error on the day of our return, specifically when I turned the system back on.

    Now all I can assume from this our HW was on 21oc before the system was turned back on - usually it never drops below 30oc as it's set to reheat when in use. No Comms issues since our return or any issues at all.

    Now my question would be - does your HW regularly drop below 30oc or so @DBMandrake?
    Not while it is scheduled off, no. It typically drops from 54C down to about 42C when scheduled off overnight, and down to about 46C when scheduled off during a work day.

    Of course if I run a bath and use all the hot water the reading will drop into the 20's or 30's but then climb again as it reheats.

    In the background I've received my NanoCUL and started logging comms from the system with the help of the guys like DanD who are already doing this and digging deeper into the problem, and the situation with the CS92A is even more complex than I'd first thought, so I still don't have a firm conclusion about what the problem is or whether multiple problems are involved.

    I have discovered a couple of things of interest that may be contributing factors though:

    1) The transmitted signal from the CS92A seems to be a lot weaker than other Evohome devices, at least in my setup. I have my NanoCUL set up receiving close to the controller and can measure the received signal RSSI for each device for each packet logged - the CS92A is about 15dB weaker than any other device, including the BDR91's that are in the same cupboard as the CS92A.

    The antenna design is also poor and puts the primary radiation axis in the horizontal plane. Below is a picture of the PCB. I've drawn a red line over the (PCB) antenna which runs along the top and down the right hand side: (left hand side relative to the front of the case)



    This is presumably an end fed 1/4 wave with the feed point being the transmitter near the top left of the board. Unfortunately this means the majority of the radiation is horizontally polarised because not only is the horizontal section of antenna longer, most radiation will come from the low impedance end close to the transmitter and not much from the open circuit at the high impedance end of the vertical section. So very little of the radiation is vertically polarised.

    The horizontal radiation will be at a maximum perpendicular to the plane of the device and fall off significantly to the sides. My controller is at approximately a 45 degree angle to the left so this is a problem.

    So I tried rotating the whole CS92A counter clockwise 90 degrees on the wall (it just has one screw holding it for now) to make the primary radiation axis vertical (and therefore omni-directional in the horizontal plane) and sure enough the RSSI at the receiving point has gone up by approx 15dB, and so far no comms errors although it's too early to tell for sure.

    2) The built in signal test function in the Evohome and CS92A seems to be pretty useless - even with the very weak signal the Nano was reporting it was giving a 5/5 result.

    3) The CS92A is difficult to decode with the NanoCUL with some errors reported, while all other devices in the system decode without errors. The error rate seems to go up after the device has been running a long time and comes down again after power cycling the CS92A. Most peculiar. This thing is a riddle inside a riddle.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 18th February 2020 at 01:56 PM.

  6. #66
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    The analysis from DBMandrake is helpful and makes lots of sense. Whilst at times I wondered whether interference was the cause of the lost contact with the CS92A I was never convinced for everything else had no problem. It also is not a frequent occurrence but does happen, and not at any particular time other than usually when the HW is off.

    I have been away for a couple of days. I switched all to Away with a minimum setting of 5C. The night before I left to come home I checked and all worked, house was cold and HW was down to about 28C. The morning I departed to return I checked and there was a blank for HW. My guess was the Control Panel had lost contact with the sensor but if I checked again later all would be good. It was. Checking the log when I got home showed that contact had been lost with the sensor around the time that I first checked.

    I have now put lithium batteries in the sensor and may well consider rotating it as in DBMandrake’s case. My sensor is more then the minimum distance from other Evohome gear, it’s Relay is to its left and about the 10 o clock position. The Control Panel is on a different floor, below the sensor and at about the 7 o’clock position to it.

    I will see first if using lithium batteries reduces instances of lost contact but it may be a 45 degree turn to the left of the sensor could help.

    Talking of batteries, I used to use the Industrial AAs bought from Amazon which are said to be the same as Duracells. No issues, but my last batch are Amazon’s own badged version. I am getting the same life out of Amazon’s own version.

  7. #67
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    Isnt Away set to 5C, the same as Off?

  8. #68
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Isnt Away set to 5C, the same as Off?
    Yes. I use Away as it switches all off. Easier.

  9. #69
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Yes. I use Away as it switches all off. Easier.
    Without getting off topic I find 5oc is too cold, i've adjusted my Away mode to 11oc - I find it a happy medium between it keeping the house aired and not coming on too often.

    Useful to know about turning it counter clockwise - I shall fit them that way from now on!

  10. #70
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    Sorry to ask, but why not use the Heating Off button, which is also one click? Is it the HW cycle that you are trying to avoid? Also depending on your pipe runs, 5C detected in a room may not be high enough to avoid freezing. An 7-8C Away might actually be better and also then you have the 5C Off too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •