• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • andym
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Dec 2005

Starting alarm system from scratch

Hello, i am a total novice at this but am very keen to learn.

I would like to install an xp/ pc based home alarm system with motion sensitive cameras that record to a web based server and telephone a set number when activated. i would like this system to be expandable to control lighting, curtains etc at a later stage, and also be able to remotely view the cameras over the web
    I have looked at homeseer, x10.com, and various camera capture card manufacturers and am to be honest totally lost as to what i need to buy to get me started, and the compatibility of different components.
    can anyone give me an idea as to where to start?

hope you can help

many thanks

Andy
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Re: Starting alarm system from scratch

I will start with potential problems first. While XP Pro is fairly stable it is still prone to the odd crash. And you wouldn't want your security system to crash just when you get broken into.
    Personally I would use a stand alone camera system. This would be 4 to 8 cameras hooked up to an HD DVR (hard disc digital video recorder). That way the system can record what is happening, locally. This serves as a back up. If the burglar cuts the phone line and or your cable TV connection how do you get emails etc. Most HD DVR also have an ethernet port on the back so connecting it to the internet is fairly staright forward if you already have a home network.