Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Comms fault on all 12 zones!

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default Comms fault on all 12 zones!

    OK, so CD78E30C-66EA-4EBC-8F4D-42E086D606AC.jpg

    here is a mystery - Perfectly working EH system suddenly starting giving comms errors on all 12 zones yesterday - photo attached. No new wireless devices, no new Bluetooth devices, no new alarms added, no changes made to WiFi. Battery out and rest of controller has no effect. Changed batteries in many HR92 without success.

    Stranhge thing is that heating and hot water are still working, i.e. changing as needed!

    Moved controller to different parts of house no change - Any ideas please?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,716

    Default

    Do you have hot water? If so change the battery in the temp sensor.

    In the past we’ve seen a couple of instances of a dying HW sensor causing a fault like this.

    It may not be, but for the sake of a couple of AAs it's worth a try.

    (Edit) Sorry, of course you have hot water - I just click the photo thumbnail!

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Thanks Paul - should have said have also changed those batteries as well,m same result even after reboot.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,283

    Default

    If all zones are suddenly reporting errors then normal deduction would say that either there is massive signal interference from something (unlikely to that extent) or the radio in your controller has failed.

    Do you get any result if you do a signal test ? Remember you can initiate a signal test from either the controller or from the HR92's...

    If that shows no result then a full factory reset of the controller would be next on my list of things to try before condemning it..

  5. #5
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestion. All zones show perfect reception despite the continuing errors. EH support suggested deleting all zones and reminding, and this has resolved it. Worrying though, this sort of thing should not happen.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    99

    Default

    I've had the same problem at least twice now. The first time it happened (October, late morning), I rebooted the controller (by taking the batteries out) and then started trying to rebind all the TRVs but after a couple, I just left it for a while and everything went back to normal. I can't remember the exact details but I did take photos of the fault log. My initial screen wasn't like the screenshot in the original message as it wasn't showing temperatures, just dashes. After things returned to normal, the log showed comms restored events.

    This time, I rebooted the controller and left it for an hour or so. The temperatures came back but the warning triangles didn't disappear until I went in and cleared the fault log. There were no restore events.

    In both cases, all the zones lost comms in the space of a couple of minutes. With the more recent one, I think it had started well before the faults started showing up in the log, as I had noticed the red light flashing on the DHW BDR61 and also that the radiators didn't seem to coming on as I expected. This might have been an hour before the faults showed up.

    I live in a small, quiet, village and, the last event was New Year's Eve, also late morning, and it was very quiet, no traffic or passing aeroplanes. I can't think of any external event that might have caused the failure and I think it must be a controller issue of some sort as rebooting resolved it.
    Last edited by filbert; 2nd January 2021 at 12:34 PM. Reason: clarify

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •