Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help needed wiring a thermostat

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Hi all

    Can someone please advice me how to wire a wireless room thermostat.

    My boiler has a wire link (yellow) and the boiler booklet states that this link should be removed when fitting a room thermostat.

    All this is ok but the problem is that the wireless room thermostat control has three wires which are live neutral and output.

    All advice will be apreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    I'm just making an educated guess here, so if someone else could verify that what I am saying is correct that would be good.
    Connect the live and neutral up. The output wire should then connect to the boiler, as this will be a switched live connection (on or off). Exactly where you connect it inside your boiler I don't know. Do you know the make and model number.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Hi

    The thrmostat is called a Thermstat T105 and the boiler is ICI Caldie Twin Solar. Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Just a correction the thermostat is called Towerstat RF advavanced RF programmable thermostat.

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    It looks like I am right. Just had a look at the manual.
    you can download it here
    http://www.tfc-group.co.uk/assets/gr...TT%20RF%20.pdf

    I hope this is the same as your thermostat.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Thanks for the reply Toscal but if i wire it the way you say then it shuts down the whole boiler when the temperature reaches the set level and therefore the water heating system can not operate.

    I am a bit confused.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Have you set the switch in the remote to heat rather than cool?

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    where you have taken the link wire out of the boiler you are left with 2 connections, one of these will be a permanent live output (you may need to check with a multi meter or it maybe labled Ls, this connects to the live supply of the thermostat, the output connection of the thermostat goes to the other connection on the boiler (maybe Lr). The neutral from the thermostat goes to the neutral connection on the boiler, there might be a spare one next to the thermostat connection, if not just pick one up from the incoming supply in the boiler (should be labled 'N' - blue wire).

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Thanks for the advice guys will keep you posted.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Help needed wiring a thermostat

    Hi. I have exactly the same problem. I bought the T105 not realising that the 240V output is not useable with my combi boiler.

    My combi boiler has a circuit that needs to be opened and closed, rather than fed with a voltage.

    A possible solution would be to purchase a relay that is 240V powered, and connect this to the circuit on the combi.

    Alternatively, you could remove the relay from the T105 (it's a "Massuse ME-11"), so that when it opens and closes it's connected directly to the circuit on your boiler rather than one end of it being connected to 240V live.

    The first solution is probably better in order to avoid needing to take the T105 apart, but with the 1st solution you need to be careful in that you'll have 240V of electricity somewhere in your combi that wasn't there previously (and therefore not necessarily adequately protected from water, etc).

    Hope this makes sense.

    Ed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •