Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Control Panel Battery

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,205

    Default Control Panel Battery

    Some months ago I took my Control Panel off itís mount and noticed that within a couple of minutes it hung on me with the display saying the batteries in it were low and I needed to put it back on the mount. I did so. It indicated the batteries seemed to be fine. As the batteries were the original ones I replaced them with new rechargeables. I still get the same issue in that I cannot take the Panel off the mount for longer than a minute or so before it hangs on me. I have checked the strength of the contacts in the battery compartment and all seems OK. Anybody else with this issue? I am sure it has cropped up before but I searched before posting and found nothing.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Harrogate, North Yorks
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Try this link and also within the thread Anniesboy original link
    https://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbul...ller+batteries

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,205

    Default

    Thanks. Will have a look.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    The bug that keeps the batteries within the control panel topped up has not been implemented. So by the time you need the backup of the batteries, the batteries have self depleted. This is quite a novice error on the part of Honeywell/Resideo. Backup batteries should routinely be tested and topped up, if required, so that they are fully charged for when you need them.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,254

    Default

    I can confirm that this charging bug still exists in the 19.33 firmware. I fitted brand new rechargeable batteries several months ago and ensured they were fully charged, when I recently removed the controller from the wall mount I got about 5 minutes use before it was screaming to be put back on the charger because the batteries have not been kept charged.

    Please, fix this Honeywell. Keeping batteries charged is not rocket science, especially when this problem has been reported to you via this forum for YEARS!

    The workaround to force the batteries to be fully charged is to remove a battery, remove it from the charger so that it shuts off, then reinstate it on the charger, wait until it boots up and displays a red cross indicating the batteries are missing, then insert the missing battery.

    This is the only way to force the battery to be fully charged, but end users should not be having to do this. There's no point having backup batteries if the controller is incapable of keeping them properly charged.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    This has got to be the most severe bug that exists on the Evohome system today. I can't think of a bigger issue.
    The bug of not periodically resetting TRVs back to the Heating Off, during Heating Off is probably a close second but is still some distance away priority wise from the battery top up required.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    This has got to be the most severe bug that exists on the Evohome system today. I can't think of a bigger issue.
    The bug of not periodically resetting TRVs back to the Heating Off, during Heating Off is probably a close second but is still some distance away priority wise from the battery top up required.
    Totally agree. I can only think that there is a hardware problem, otherwise why would they leave this problem for years. They also appear very unwilling to acknowledge the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •