Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Evohome Installation help

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default Evohome Installation help

    Hello all,

    I hope everyone is well?

    So, with great thanks to this forum I have today taken delivery of my Evohome kit:
    Evohome Controller
    Table Top Stand
    2x BDR91's
    Hot Water Kit with sensor
    8x HR92
    8x HR91

    My current heating system is made up of:
    Vaillant ecoTEC Plus 624 System.
    VR81 on the landing UPSTAIRS
    VR61 in landing cupboard
    VRC 470F DOWNSTAIRS
    Albion 210 Hot water store with temperature probe running straight to the boiler. GAS ONLY, the Electric heating element is not connected.
    3 Honeywell zone valves all hard wired into my VR61.
    230V = Mains in from fused spur feed back out VIA 5 core flex to boiler 2 core (grey and black) feed from BUS
    LP/ZP = DHW Cylinder Honeywell Zone Valve
    HK1-P = Heating Zone 1 (Down S) Honeywell Zone Valve
    HK2-P = Heating Zone 2 (Up S) Honeywell Zone Valve
    BUS = VR81, RF Receiver from outdoor weather comp / 470F & two cores to boiler


    I will be hooking up all 12 Zones with 2 rooms having two rads and DHW, currently no UFH is needed.


    So i am now stuck at the first hurdle, where do i even start... I thought it was going to be pretty straight forward by all accounts. My Brother is Gas safe reg and will check my boiler once i have completed and all wiring is in place (however i am an ex spark)

    I am fully aware that OpenTherm is not an option and i dont want to get the VR33 to make it so.

    This was my understanding:
    1) remove eBus cables and connect to BDR91
    2) DHW 2port valve to be removed from VR62 and connected to BDR91
    3) Manually override / lock open Up and Down 2 port valves
    4) Setup and live happily ever after.

    But i have much more going on here and im lost.

    Can anyone please help me out? - before anyone suggests i get in a "Professional" to do this work, i have tried, 3 heating engineers, 1 didnt even know what modulation was and the other 2 had less of a clue on Evohome than me.

    Many thanks to all.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I could summaries with,
    has anyone fitted Evohome to an Ecotec 6 series boiler with DHW and two heating circuits and is willing to share your wiring ?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sh4d0w View Post
    I could summaries with,
    has anyone fitted Evohome to an Ecotec 6 series boiler with DHW and two heating circuits and is willing to share your wiring ?
    Yes I have, however i'm just on my way out and need to sit down and read your full post and think about things. So i'll reply sometime in the near future. Unless you've worked it out?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmcgavock View Post
    Yes I have, however i'm just on my way out and need to sit down and read your full post and think about things. So i'll reply sometime in the near future. Unless you've worked it out?
    Thank you ever so much, very kind of you.

    I have been told conflicting information from Honeywell Technical, one said i can use eBus one said i cant.

    Where i am now is this...

    BDR91 at boiler, L&N in, L bridge to A, B to RT230, i threw the towl in for the day and got on the beers ; What i am told is that once this is in and i press the button on the BDR my boiler should then fire, however that doesnt happen, the green light comes on but my boiler does not change, not right away anyhow, however iver not taken anything else out the boxes other than this one BDR.

    From what i understand about the rest is that my two CH zone valves need to be manually locked open and my DHW needs to wired up a bit diffrent in that the temp probe inside my cycliner pocket OR strapped to the pipe, this stat wires into the relay box and then the BDR is the same in that L&N, L to A but B to relay box COMMON and then relay box to B.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sh4d0w View Post
    Thank you ever so much, very kind of you.

    I have been told conflicting information from Honeywell Technical, one said i can use eBus one said i cant.

    Where i am now is this...

    BDR91 at boiler, L&N in, L bridge to A, B to RT230, i threw the towl in for the day and got on the beers ; What i am told is that once this is in and i press the button on the BDR my boiler should then fire, however that doesnt happen, the green light comes on but my boiler does not change, not right away anyhow, however iver not taken anything else out the boxes other than this one BDR.

    From what i understand about the rest is that my two CH zone valves need to be manually locked open and my DHW needs to wired up a bit diffrent in that the temp probe inside my cycliner pocket OR strapped to the pipe, this stat wires into the relay box and then the BDR is the same in that L&N, L to A but B to relay box COMMON and then relay box to B.
    You can't use eBus with Evohome only the S/L on RT230v.

    Firstly you'll have to remove all the Vaillant Controls, so remove the eBus wiring and the wireless receiver for the 470f out the front of the boiler (If it was pushed in the front)

    You will need to remove the link in 24v also as that's probably been left in if it was using the eBus link.

    BDR91 - you will need 3 in total (One for Boiler Relay, One for the two zone valves, and one for HW). Locking your motorised valves open will only leave them half open and not fully. You need to either remove them or wire them in, if you don't want to purchase another BDR91 then you could wire them into the boiler relay so they just open when there's a demand. However on doing this any rads that don't have HR92s on will heat on a HW demand.

    HW - You need to use the probe in the cylinder stat pocket. However it is essential you wire the High Limit stat in on the cylinder in series with the HW BDR91. So L & N to HW BDR91. L to A, B to high limit stat com, High Limit stat NC to Brown MV wire.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    You can't use eBus with Evohome only the S/L on RT230v.
    Thank you buddy, i got this bit :-)

    Firstly you'll have to remove all the Vaillant Controls, so remove the eBus wiring and the wireless receiver for the 470f out the front of the boiler (If it was pushed in the front).
    I did remove the Bus connector but did not remove the receiver from the front when i tested last night, will give it another go with that removed, again, thank you

    You will need to remove the link in 24v also as that's probably been left in if it was using the eBus link.
    Do you mean the bridge between both connections on the white 24V =RT plug, ill add images below.

    BDR91 - you will need 3 in total (One for Boiler Relay, One for the two zone valves, and one for HW). Locking your motorised valves open will only leave them half open and not fully. You need to either remove them or wire them in, if you don't want to purchase another BDR91 then you could wire them into the boiler relay so they just open when there's a demand. However on doing this any rads that don't have HR92s on will heat on a HW demand.
    Thank you again, This is where things get confusing - EvoHomeShop and Honeywell Technical both say i dont need 3 but the internet says i do, i therefore took the advice of suppliers to go with just two, there was no mention of the valves being half open though. With this in mind and to avoid another expense i would like to try and get it working without the 3rd BDR, IF it all works as planned then i will remove the two CH 2 port valves from my plan. the only rads NOT controlled by HR91/92s will be my two towel rads so i am happy for them to heat on any call for heat.
    How would i wire these into the boiler relay?


    HW - You need to use the probe in the cylinder stat pocket. However it is essential you wire the High Limit stat in on the cylinder in series with the HW BDR91. So L & N to HW BDR91. L to A, B to high limit stat com, High Limit stat NC to Brown MV wire.
    I thank you again for this information, i may need to revert back to you once i get to this point, if that is ok?

    I cant thank you enough for this help, honestly. I have spent ages trying to find posts online for an S Plan Plus with an EcoTech boiler and EvoHome and i just cant get the answers i need. If i get stuck would you be willing to give me a call to run things by you? happy to pay you for your time or donate funds to a charity of your choice.

    Cheers

    Martin

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Also, you may not have seen my other reply? Just before you posted.

    Good night

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thank you again. I have learnt so much these last few days!
    Since my last post Ive worked out what you just said with a slight variation...
    I have it down that from my dhw bdr B I go too high limit C then out from 1 on the regular stat on the RIGHT To the brown of my valve. So passing L through the high point and then should limit be reached the L Is killer shutting off the valve.

    In doing what you say above, is there a change to how it works?

  9. #9
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sh4d0w View Post
    Thank you again. I have learnt so much these last few days!
    Since my last post Ive worked out what you just said with a slight variation...
    I have it down that from my dhw bdr B I go too high limit C then out from 1 on the regular stat on the RIGHT To the brown of my valve. So passing L through the high point and then should limit be reached the L Is killer shutting off the valve.

    In doing what you say above, is there a change to how it works?
    No not really, in fact it's better doing it your way - I do this sometimes and just crank the stat to max (So 65oc in your case) but it's depending on how high the regular stat will set and what you set EvoHome at. As if you have it on 65oc on the normal stat and 65oc on Evohome it's possible that your regular stat may cut in before Evohome does - which you don't want. But if your regular stat is set on 65oc and Evohome at 55oc then Evohome should always cut in before the normal stat would usually go to Open circuit.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Fabulous. Thank you my mate.
    Just had to turn my boiler off!
    Seems to be all working ok and then I walk downstairs and itís like an oven.... heating is on at nuclear temperatures. Couldnít touch the rads. Checked the evohome screen and it didnít look like it was running. Any idea why that might be buddy?
    Iím a bit reluctant to carry on if itís not working properly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •