Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: What's the best way to log room temps and set points - IFTTT?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default What's the best way to log room temps and set points - IFTTT?

    A few years ago, when I first installed Evohome, I used IFTTT to log room temps and set points. I had graphs of temp and set point for each room but this stopped working at some point and I forgot about it until recently. I'd like to be able to log again but I don't want to mess-around with code or bespoke hardware, I just want a service that runs on a PC or phone.
    I remember that IFTTT was quite unfriendly so, before I start digging around in it again, I'd like to check whether these functions are still available and whether there are alternatives.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    10

    Default

    For this I use Domoticz. It's running on a Raspberry Pi 3B+. It can register and control almost everything from Evohome.
    Logging room temps and setpoint is standard. Running for over 2 years without problem.

    PS: For this to work you need an account with Honeywell Home Total Connect

    Capture.jpg
    Last edited by Jack007; 21st February 2021 at 06:22 PM.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack007 View Post
    For this I use Domoticz. It's running on a Raspberry Pi 3B+. It can register and control almost everything from Evohome.
    Logging room temps and setpoint is standard. Running for over 2 years without problem.

    PS: For this to work you need an account with Honeywell Home Total Connect

    Capture.jpg
    Thanks, but although my background is in electronic and IT design I just want something that works that I don't have to build or code.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Well, that the beauty, you don't have to build or code anything. Domoticz is free/open source and runs on ARM, Windows and Linux (https://www.domoticz.com/downloads/). Also most NAS providers (Synology, Asustor) have a Domoticz package (or put it in a docker).
    An account at Honeywell HTC is also free.
    The only thing you have to do is tell Domoticz it can use EvoHome.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default

    This is slightly embarrassing, but when I installed Domoticz the installer told me it was updating an earlier installation that I had forgotten I'd downloaded. I must have fried my remaining memory pixies :-( Thanks for the pointer.
    Currently I've got all the zones displayed; is it possible to see whether a particular zone is calling for heat?

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    10

    Default

    As far as I know it can only display information that is available in HHTC (see also Honeywell Home app) like schedules, current temperatures, setpoints, overrides, etc.
    Heat demand is not one of them (i wish it was).

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Having played around I can see the benefit of having Domoticz running on a dedicated system so I've ordered a Raspberry Pi - thanks for leading me to another learning curve and another pile of "to-do"s ;-)

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Domoticz becomes super handy with Evohome but only if you have an HGI80 or similar.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default

    I've already added my name to the list.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    The Borderlands
    Posts
    119

    Default

    I've been trying to add actual weather to Domoticz, but without success. The Open Weather Map "hardware" page doesn't look the same as in the documentation (there's nothing below the <location> box) and there are no devices. Have I missed an incantation, is there a better source of weather actuals?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •