• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NGNDigital
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Jan 2006

Newbie some help please

Hi all,

I am looking into automating my new home one step at a time, I am a cat5, fibre optic, structured cabling installer by trade. I am looking to start from scratch, My house is a brand new house already built, so installing a whole new network would be achievable but i dont really want to have trunking in all my rooms.

I want to automate lighting controls with dimmers, get my blinds working by remote, send my sky signal and tv, video and audio around the whole house try and integrate touch screen lcds, control appliances, I want everything basically,but one bit at a time, at an affordable price.

Where would be a good place to start, and what sort of system to use?

any help would be appriciated
    Danny D
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Re: Newbie some help please

As you are already a structured cabling installer then I would look at Abitana's structured cabling system. This uses a modified cat5e cable twisted pair 7 & 8 use a slightly bigger wire size and have extra shielding. With this system you can distribute audio, TV, composite video, telephone and of course computer networks. Abitana can be contacted at www.abitana.com their UK distributor is Minitran at www.minitran.co.uk. Both companies are incredible helpful.