Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Domoticz notifications

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    124

    Default Domoticz notifications

    Iím assuming that I can get Domoticz to notify me when Evohome gets a fault entry in its log. Battery low, comms fault, etc. Iíve looked through the wiki and, as far as I can understand it, itís talking about being notified when, eg, a radiator comes on. The ĎLogí icon (under utilities) shows the log entries and has a notifications button but, again, I canít work out how to make it do what I want.

    Any advice, anyone?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    I coded this bit in Domoticz, so I know it works :-) And in fact the notifications was my primary reason for parsing the Fault log and publishing it to Domoticz. This addresses the biggest drawback in Evohome of notification during a fault condition. And even the main screen clears with no evidence of a Fault if the Fault has been restored by the time you see it.
    The way you do it is to create a Notification rule on the Fault Log device.
    See my screen shot that should give you a clue. I want to be notified on any non 0 condition. And I want to be notified via email. How you get notified is dependent on how you have configured Domoticz.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Thanks, that looks straightforward. I'll give it a go!

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi Bruce,

    Thank you for writing this. How do you get to that option page? When I click on switches-->notifications, I don's see an option for "update" I do see (under type) switch on/switch off/last update

    Justin

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Click the Notifications button on the Fault Log card found in the Utility sensor page.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Click the Notifications button on the Fault Log card found in the Utility sensor page.
    Bruce, do I need to somehow add the Evo controller as a utility? It is currently set as a "switch"
    Under the Utility tab I see: No Utility sensors found or added in the system...

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Have you actually selected the "Fault Logbook" sensor to be visible in your Devices list. Sounds like you may not have done that. You need to find the device called Fault Log and make sure it has a Blue left arrow icon and not a Green right arrow icon. Once done the Fault Logbook sensor card will appear in the Utility page.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Have you actually selected the "Fault Logbook" sensor to be visible in your Devices list. Sounds like you may not have done that. You need to find the device called Fault Log and make sure it has a Blue left arrow icon and not a Green right arrow icon. Once done the Fault Logbook sensor card will appear in the Utility page.
    Strange, maybe I'm doing something wrong but I don't see any devices in my list called: "Fault Logbook", I see the Evo controller and I see the actuators

  9. #9
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    What version of Domoticz are you running?

    See a screenshot of my Devices list.Screenshot_20211014-150227_Chrome.jpg

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi Bruce,

    I am running:
    Version: 2021.1
    Build Hash: 8547c5b7e
    Compile Date: 2021-04-17 16:29:11
    dzVents Version: 3.1.7
    Python Version: None

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •