• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Me-again
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Oct 2020

Hot water control

I bought a evohome hot water controller when i bought my system but was put off by people on here reporting problems with it, hot water not coming on, comms faults etc. Just wondering if these problems have now be fixed as i dont want to install if there still present as the last thing i want is no hot water when its needed.
  • Scubajoe
    Automated Home Sr Member
    • Nov 2018

I've been running one for a couple of years without any issues, seems to work very well. What does annoy me is that when we go on holiday and use the app to turn the heating off, the hot water is still on so make sure you turn off the jot water as well.

Comment

• CT1
      Automated Home Guru
      • Apr 2016

Our hot water has been working sort of okay for years. It did frequently report a loss of comms, but this has only happened once since I changed the batteries about 8 months ago and was reset by removing and replacing the battery. We don’t rely on timed control of the hot water, because it is generally kept hot by our solar, so only needs the occasional manual boost. So far a comms fault has not coincided with a need for a manual boost. I suspect there will always be a risk of hot water comms faults, but these could be very dependent on each specific installation; you are only likely to know for sure about your system by giving it a try. Just be sure the battery terminals are tensioned and clean, and the batteries are in good condition with clean terminals. The low currents makes all EvoHome kit sensitive to contact resistance. You also need to be careful about location and separation of the kit and distance from metal (not always easy in an airing cupboard. I would give it a try and be prepared for some trial and error regarding location of the controls. A bit of a faff, but works well if you get it set up right.

Comment

• Me-again
        Automated Home Jr Member