Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Hot water control

  1. #21
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,776

    Default


  2. #22
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    161

    Default

    I had fully agreed that batteries had nothing to do with the comms problems, which I had quite regularly even with fresh batteries. However when I changed the batteries a few months ago, I took the opportunity to ensure both the unit and battery terminals were spotlessly clean. Since then I have had zero coms faults. This may just be a coincidence, but it could also be an indication that the batteries may contribute to the message being missed by the controller, e.g. if the signal level is slightly lower? I have no way to test this hypothesis. It is also worth noting that my hot water use is always low and infrequent because much of my requirement is covered by solar thermal and PV.

  3. #23
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,776

    Default

    The frequency of the comms failure messages is inversely proportionate to the numbers of messages the CS92 sends the controller. Changing, repositioning the batteries etc, just forces the CS92 to transmit and that helps re-establish the comms. Also the message is misleading, its not a genuine loss of comms, its the controller saying that I haven't heard the CS92 in a while. And the problem is that the controller just missed the last message the CS92 sent.

  4. #24
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Most of my water heating is done by sola with the EvoHome HW not used for several days at times, so presumably, the message rate is low. This would explain why I have traditionally had several loss of comms messages. There has been no change in my usage, the only thing to have changed is meticulous cleaning of the battery terminals and contacts. It has now been months without a comms fault. Could be a coincidence and I may get several comms faults next month, but the longer I go without a comms fault, the less I am inclined to believe it is not related. I am sure you are correct about the missed messages, but I am beginning to believe that batteries could be a contributing factor.

    The reason I cleaned the contacts in the first place, was reading about another very low power application where the very low current was insufficient to “wet” the battery contacts. EvoHome’s use of very low power (and weak terminal tension) looked to make it a candidate for this problem, hence I now make a point of cleaning both batteries and contacts, so far so good.

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,776

    Default

    My CS92 does not use batteries any more. And yet it will show a comms failure every so often.
    And because I have a log of absolutely every Evohome RF message, it is quite easy for me to go and have a look and see what is happening. And each time it shows that the CS92 has actually spoken. It's the controller that just goes temporarily deaf and misses that infrequent CS92 message, which is enough for a comms fault to be raised.
    But now I no longer care about those errors because I know they will just clear by themselves.

  6. #26
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Had my first problems with the system, hot water set to 60c differential is +/- 6c and noticed H/W was showing at 71c on the controller and the boiler was still running so controller still calling for more heat from boiler. This is the second time i have noticed the controller showing H/W at 71c I didn't check if boiler was still running the first time though. What causes this problem.

  7. #27
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,776

    Default

    What is the HW Over run set to? Also when you saw the HW temp go beyond the set point, what was the actual Heat Demand for the HW in the settings menu

  8. #28
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    25

    Default

    The H/W over run is set to zero and i didnt think to check the heat demand, will do that if it happens again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •