Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin Lo ?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin Lo ?

    Hello,

    I've been looking at Kevi Lo's stuff on Ebay and have taken the plunge and ordered a few bits and pieces. Kevin seems a good guy and we've had god comms so far.

    Has anybody on here actually bought one of his inwall micrto module dimmers ?

    My main question is - what kind of switch are you using with these ? Do I need to buy momentary switches as Simply Automate state is their case with their (much more expoensive) dimmer modules or will standard switches work ?

    Also where I have a two gang switch currently and I only want one of the lights connected to become X10 controllable am I able to fit in the module behind and wire one light to it whilst still being able to wire the non X10 light into the second switch on whatever switch plate I require as per the question above ?

    Hope this is clear - many thanks in advance.

    RSK

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin

    Hi,

    I have a double applicance micromodule from Kevin, it seems great so far.

    You can use "toggle" type switches, momentary will not work well at all.

    Regarding your second question surely that would depend on the depth of your wall box and how much room you have got, but in principle it should be ok.
    Cheers

    Dan

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin

    [quote="danward79"]Hi,

    I have a double applicance micromodule from Kevin, it seems great so far.

    You can use "toggle" type switches, momentary will not work well at all.


    Hi Dan - so does this mean that the standrd switches I can buy in B*Q etc with just on and off will work ? Any idea how I dimk the lighst using these switches ?

    RSK

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Hi,

    Not sure about the dim of these devices, but for the appliance type micro modules yes a standard on/off wall switch will work fine.

    Do you have a link to kevins data sheet for the dimmable device?
    Cheers

    Dan

  5. #5
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    This may help you
    http://x10-hk.com/ebay/manual/2264E.pdf

    The datasheet does not detail if they should be momentary or not however the configuration drawing shows toggle type switches.
    Cheers

    Dan

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin

    I have just received a single gang and can't get the thing to work. Basically I install it, push the setup button, the LED flashes and goes solid and I then use an x10 controller to select A1. The LED goes off and the lights dim down as suggested and I can then turn them off and on using the attached toggle switch. However I can't turn the light off / on or dim and bright using the same x10 controller. It does nothing, I am not sure if it is me or not. When I use the toggle switch to switch on it brightens the bulbs until they are full on and dims to off when turning off - I just get no response using X10?

    Steve

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default Re: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin

    I found the device I brought a bit fiddly to set up too, unfortunately I can't remember what I did in the end!

    I certainly had several attempts at it, sorry for being so vague.
    Cheers

    Dan

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Has anybody bought a micro module X10 dimmer from Kevin

    If you remember how to do it, or think I may have missed an essential step I would really appreciate it as I would quite like to go down that route. Steve

  9. #9
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    If I recall you have to send all the discrete codes you wish to use in sequence once you start programming the device.

    I think I had to send an A1 On, A2 On, in close sucession.
    Cheers

    Dan

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member danward79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I actually just reprogrammed mine to find out how to do it for you!

    1. Press the button till the led blinks then remains on, the light attached to it will also come on.

    Mine is a dual appliance micro module so may be a nit different, but should be similar.

    2. Send the on code to the device. Light turns off.

    3. If it has a second output send the second on code. Second light turns off.

    4. leave it for 10 seconds and test it.

    If you mess up. Press the reset button for 12 seconds to blank it.
    Cheers

    Dan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •