• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tmccallion
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2006

LW12 Wiring - PLease help

Hi All,
    I'm new to home automation and have just bought a CM12U, LW12 and a SD10E to start off with but cannot get the LW12 to respond to either "All Lights On" or "All Units Off".

I went through the instructions for the LW12 on setting up these commands but still no joy.

Also sometimes when the light (with the LW12) is switched on (via momentry switch) it comes on but is dimmed really low. It doesn't seem to matter how bright it was when it was switched off.

I am really puzzled and would appreciate your comments
    I'm starting to think "have I wired it up properly"

Please help
    Tony
  • turbine_2
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Dec 2005

Re: LW12 Wiring - PLease help

What sort of unit / bulb do you have plugged into it? I've had issues in the past with some low power units on AM12 units like step down transformers.
    Is the bulb at least 60w?
    No, not the magic smoke escaping again.....

Comment

• toscal
      • Oct 2005

Assuming the bulb issue is ok. As this unit uses no neutral the bulb type is quite important. I use mine on 230volt halogens.
      When you programmed it did you also program the LW12 to except the commands All Lights On and All Lights off, by default this is off.
      Also how do you normally control the LW12, via the momentary switch or via the computer interface CM12. If its via the CM12 then do you use a dim command to turn it off as the LW12 remembers its last dim setting, how you switch it off or on is quite important.
      From what you have described it sounds like it is wired up correctly.
      IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
      Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• tmccallion
        Automated Home Lurker
        • Feb 2006

Thanks for your comments.

Got it working, I didn't have it in program mode...Duh