Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Hello,

    I know a while ago that www.total-telematics offered a range of low-cost serial (or was it even ethernet?) IO, but their website says that they're offline for a bit and I've had no joy e-mailing the address on the main page.

    Does anybody have any alternatives for doing IO (analogue ouputs of 0-10v would be handy) controlled over RS232 or Ethernet?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Reading
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    You could use a netiom for the digital IO over ethernet....I guess you could also hook up a DAC onto some of the spare digital io as well to get your analogue out if you wanted....

    http://www.phaedrusltd.com/system/index.html

    I've used a few and they are very good.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for that. Unfortunately, the analogue output is the most important thing to me ... and I think I'd end up using 7 or 8 pins for each channel trying to convert digital output to analogue.

    Does anyone know whose kit total-telematics used to sell?

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,046

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Have you looked at this product from Digidave,
    http://www.digidave.co.uk
    Then click on Home automation the one your looking for is the IP Power 9212
    It has digital inputs/outputs and some can be used as voltage inputs. The voltage input operates like this ON= 4 to 24volts and off is 0 to 3v possible not quite what you are after.
    The box is made by Aviosys http://www.aviosys.com/ippower9212.htm
    They do some other interfaces that might be of more use to you. such as the IP SENSOR 9218 DigiDave also supplies this one as well. This may be better for you.
    Hope this helps.

  5. #5

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Check out the EtherPad Digital IO:
    http://www.multenet.com/products/dio.html

    4x digital inputs
    2x digital outputs
    1x analog input

    Scripting environment allows customised control via embedded webpages and/or scripting engine.

    It allows Ethernet, RS232/422/485 comms. You can also attach an external modem (PSTN/GSM/GPRS). SMS, email data (alarms) out. Supports SNMP and traps. A neat FTP upload command is also useful.

    Multenet Technical Support

    PM me for more info

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Hi
    Check out the Barix site regarding the Barionet. It has IO rs232 and also network. I own one, did not have the time howeever to install it yet!
    I also believe there is a topic on this great site

    Regards
    Pieter
    www.bwired.nl
    Domotica home automation realtime online in the netherlands. using X10, A10, Xanura and wireless devices. Streaming Mobotix and AXIS Webcams and camera's, Harrison electrische gordijnrail

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Hi
    Check out the Barix site regarding the Barionet. It has IO rs232 and also network. I own one, did not have the time howeever to install it yet!
    I also believe there is a topic on this great site

    Regards
    Pieter
    www.bwired.nl
    Domotica home automation realtime online in the netherlands. using X10, A10, Xanura and wireless devices. Streaming Mobotix and AXIS Webcams and camera's, Harrison electrische gordijnrail

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend TimH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    503

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    You might also want to put the WebBrick on your list, see:
    http://www.o2m8.com/modules.php?name...howpage&pid=12

    Follow the above link for the full feature list, but it includes four analogue outputs, mains outputs and temp sensor inputs etc. all accessible over Ethernet and configurable via a web browser.

    I have an earlier version and it's a really versatile device :-)

    HTH,

    Tim.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    I am in the process of uilding such a beast although it will have several inputs and a single 0-10v output. The design supply voltage is 24v but it doesn't have to be this high.

    It will be several months before the prototype is ready due to work commitments but if you are interested drop me a line and I'll keep you in the loop. It will have an Ethernet interface but no serial.

    Use the mail address an http://www.mollyology.com/index.php

    Ian

  10. #10
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,046

    Default Re: RS232 / Ethernet -> Analogue

    Have a look at this device for RS232 to Ethernet http://www.alphamicro.net/components...e~4~id~223.asp

    This company sells the device for 94 pounds. http://www.openxtra.co.uk/section.php/18/0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •