Thread: Two Sky+ Boxs to several outputs!

Automated Home Lurker

Default Two Sky+ Boxs to several outputs!

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to this but here is my situation:

I have two Sky+ boxs and a CCTV camera (Scart) which I want to distrubute to 5 or 6 different TV's around the house. I want each TV to be independent to all of the others (eg. be able to watch something different one each) and I would also like to be able to control both Sky+ box's in each room, again independently (that may be awquard as they are BOTH Sky+ boxs and therefore use the same codes)

If anyone could help me with this and point me in the right direction i'd be very greatful. Also, does anyone know roughly how much a system like this is going to cost me...

Many Thanks,

Shaun

Automated Home Lurker

Default Re: Two Sky+ Boxs to several outputs!

Seems odd no-one has responded to this. I think this is failry common and is exactly my situation too. Was hoping someone would say how to do it with Kat5 stuff.. no?

IR control can now be done with a Logitech Harmony 895. With the new firmware update. You can select which of the 4 outputs on the RF extender are used. So you could have two devices set up as Sky 1 and Sky 2 and set them to the IR extender and have Sky 1 on port a and Sky2 on port b. As long as the Sky boxes are not kept together but are seperated you can now control them independently.
    IF you haven't laid the Cat5 cable then have a look at the Abitana system www.abitana.com

The problem is the switching technology you need at the central location to be able to allow each TV to have completely independant choice over which what it wants to watch.

From the value end of the market you need to look at the AVILynx from global. IMO the best on the market is AV-Nex's Nexus.