Thread: I have a plan... will it work ? (Audio / Video)

Automated Home Lurker

Default I have a plan... will it work ? (Audio / Video)

Hi,
    I'm new to all of this cool stuff so please be patient.. 8O
    Currently I have my Meedio PC sitting in the lounge. Video is connected to Panasonic CRT-TV via VGA to SCART & 5.1 sound to Yammie Amp via 3.5mm to RCA connectors. All controlled using Pronto and USB-UIRT IR unit.

My plan is to move & hide the Meedio PC and NAS server (with DVDs/ HD WMVs) in a cupboard somewhere, and then route the audio and video over Cat5 using the Kat5 modules. (into the lounge 1st - then into other rooms)

I tried S-Video to S-Video before on the CRT and it was horrible (lots of lines) despite modifying the refresh rates.

The questions:
    Since I'm using VGA to SCART will I see a degredation in picture quality if I used the kat5 solution ?

How good is the S-Video picture quality on an 32" LCD (part of the upgrade I planning - better than CRT)?

Can I send the 5.1 Audio (via SPDIF) and the DVD / HD WMV files over 2 separate CAT5 cables at the same time - would this require 2 transmitters / receivers in the lounge?

Would I need anything else to send the IR signals back to the PC in the cupboard?

I think that will do for starters..
    Thanks for all your help :?
    OscarP

Automated Home Lurker

Default Re: I have a plan... will it work ? (Audio / Video)

Ah - me thinks I need the following:
    AVTX-RGB and AVRX-RGB for the video
    AVTX and AVRX for the audio / IR...
    Is this correct??

Also is the pricing different for the -RCB models?
    Tx
    Oscar_P

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar_P
    The questions:
    Since I'm using VGA to SCART will I see a degredation in picture quality if I used the kat5 solution ?
    Hi Oscar,

By VGA to SCART I assume you mean RGB into the TV.

KAT5 will not degrade the picture. You will get exactly the same over KAT5 as you would wth the source connected directly to the display device.