• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pilgrim1
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Sep 2006

x10 for lights.

Hi Folks, I'm new to X10 and would appreciate some advice. I'm away on holiday soon and would like to control a few of my main house lights (lamps on timers look too obvious IMHO) I was looking at the harmony module (HDM1) as I do not have a neutral. So far so good, however the issue I have is that all the rooms in which I wish to place the controllers have dimmers installed already My wife likes these dimmers and does not want to remove them, can this be done? I don't care if the X10 dims, just would like to keep the dimmer I have in place. Assuming this can be done I plan to buy a controller that would run both from the PC and standalone, (ideally connected by Ethernet). Does such a thing exist? Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

ChrisC
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Re: x10 for lights.

You can't use a dimmer switch with X10 lighting module. What would be possible is to use an appliance module to switch the live feed to the dimmer on and off. Not an ideal situation as you also need a neutral connection, and if you switch the light off via the dimmer you lose the X10 control.. I have the Marmitek version of the HDM1 and it works very well. My wife loves it. Took a few days for her to get used to it.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• pilgrim1
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Sep 2006

Originally posted by toscal
      You can't use a dimmer switch with X10 lighting module. What would be possible is to use an appliance module to switch the live feed to the dimmer on and off. Not an ideal situation as you also need a neutral connection, and if you switch the light off via the dimmer you lose the X10 control.. I have the Marmitek version of the HDM1 and it works very well. My wife loves it. Took a few days for her to get used to it.