Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Central Heating but no hot water

Automated Home Jr Member

Default Central Heating but no hot water

Please help!!!!

I have recently had a few more radiators installed in my home. Came to switch them all back on and they work fine, hot through out the radiator but I now cannot seem to get any hot water.

I do not know the specifics of the system. I will find if required. Could it be the programmer which is located in the airing cupboard (sp), or a air lock in the system or the three way valve which I keep reading so much about on here. I am a complete novice so forgive me if the terminology is not correct.

The programmer can be used to control the central heating and hot water separatley.

The immersion heater now no longer works as well. I have checked all electrical feeds, so there is electricicty getting through but im not sure if it making it into the programmer/control switches. Any help will be much appreciated!!

Paul

Automated Home Jr Member

Default Re: Central Heating but no hot water

Come on please guys, from the sounds of it your all experts on here - some one must know what the matter is ? If I can get this sorted by someone here, i'll send you some beers.... I work for a brewery!!

Did you ask whoever installed the radiators for you to recommission the system afterwards? If so, did it work when he left? If it didn't work then I think your best recourse is to get the guy back to fix it himself :-)

Do you have a 3-port valve, or two 2-port valves? A 3-way valve is sometimes located near your hot water cylinder (airing cupboard). If you look at the valve does it have 3 pipes coming up to it? If yes, then it will be a 3-way valve :-) Failure of the actuator is fairly common and the motor can usually be replaced without draining down. If the valve itself is sticking then you may have to pull it out & refurb / replace. How old is this system?